PDA

View Full Version : Alpine R Type Components



TheeyaN
01-19-2009, 03:49 PM
Hello everybody :) Here i am again,asking for help :crazy:

I am planing to buy this speakers,i have them for a very good price,but i want to know what type of amp should i buy for them.. I mean,what should the power be?

2x how many rms?:)

thegreatestpenn
01-19-2009, 03:50 PM
do a search this is asked at least once a week

TheeyaN
01-19-2009, 04:45 PM
I cant find any.. Only some comparasions.. Alpine VS. something else..

My main question is DO ALPINE R's TAKE A LOT OF POWER?:)

I am planning to run them with a EM-Phaser EA2190 2x190w rms.. Can they take that much power or will they blow up? :)

cbrei1023
01-19-2009, 04:48 PM
110W RMS per side. Get a 4 channel and bridge it for the cheapest power. I run mine off of a TXA-3004 Bridged (300x2). I feed them about 120W with HPF at 80hz. If i turn the HPF up to 120 i can send them about 150-160.

Your 190x2 will be fine for them. You wont need all that power. Like I said HPF 80hz and 120WRMS worked for me.

TheeyaN
01-19-2009, 05:09 PM
Yes i was planing to put them on a HPF 80.. I just dont understand how u hm.. How u know when u use 120 and when 150-160?

I am a nOOb,but i thought u just set the gain.. Turn gain at 0,than turn up volume at 3/4,and then u slowly increase gain until it starts to sound like crap,and then u turn in down until its perfect sound and thats that..

cbrei1023
01-20-2009, 09:21 AM
I use a DMM to set my gains.

TheeyaN
01-20-2009, 01:45 PM
What is a DMM?

KoolDrew
01-20-2009, 01:53 PM
What is a DMM?

Digital Multimeter.

TheeyaN
01-20-2009, 04:40 PM
Now i am tottaly confused :D

In the end,one final question lol :)

Can Alpine R Type's take 2x190 rms? :) pre outs on HU will be 4-6 V :)

Alpine50
01-20-2009, 07:19 PM
No,not the 6.5 components.They are rated at 110rms.If you want to send them 190 rms,and ,use all of it,they probably won't last very long.If you do try that,let me know how long they played before...poooof...................Alpine50

TheeyaN
01-22-2009, 02:19 PM
How can i reduce the power that is being provided to them? By setting the gain to lower levels?

How can i measure how much RMS are going to the speakers with the multimeter?

I have a 2x190 amp,but for sure i aint going to push it all the way.. How do i chose how much power i want to provide them?

TheeyaN
01-22-2009, 07:18 PM
I read on the web.. A lot.. :) And i found out that 190 rms is inded to much.. 120-150 rms were the most usual reccomended power for perfect sound..

I already have a oportunity to get a EM PHASER AE2150 which is 2x150 rms.. But i am still a little bit afraid that its too much?

TheeyaN
01-22-2009, 07:21 PM
Alpine50 what amp r u using? What amount of RMS?

Thedeadly1
01-22-2009, 11:12 PM
holy **** dude lower the gains on the amp they wont blow what dont you get

azimuth
01-22-2009, 11:15 PM
I read on the web.. A lot.. :) And i found out that 190 rms is inded to much.. 120-150 rms were the most usual reccomended power for perfect sound..

I already have a oportunity to get a EM PHASER AE2150 which is 2x150 rms.. But i am still a little bit afraid that its too much?

you can run a 1000 watt amp if you want, as long as you keep the gains adjusted right, there will be no problems. watts don't translate into perfect sound at any number.

TheeyaN
01-23-2009, 08:49 AM
Sorry,i am a total noob.. This is my first ''pro setup'' and i dont want to mess it up..

Although i dont see the point of having a very strong amp,if u can use only a certain amount of its power.. In the end thank u for your assistance :)

TheeyaN
01-23-2009, 03:42 PM
Yo dudes.. I just learned a great deal how to set gain while i was surfing on the web.. But i wanna say here what i learned so u can correct me if i got it wrong :)

Setting the gain with the DMM..

My amp has 2x150w rms,i only count one chanel

150 (rms) X 4(ohm) = 600

My gain voltage should be square root of 600,which is about 24.4 so i use my voltmeter and set it on 24.4 and my gain is set?

Is that all i need to do? Ofcourse while setting the gains,the speakers should be turned off.. ?

gunz4me
01-23-2009, 04:31 PM
For your mids/highs, you generally want to use a 1,000 Hz, 0 dB, test tone. Everything will need to be set flat on your HU (no bass, treble, loudness, etc.), and all your external processing/crossovers will need to be turned off while setting the gain! You also want to do this with your speakers disconnected because chances are highly likely that you will blow them if you try to set your gain while that test tone is running through the amp to your components.

I would go a little less than that since those speakers only handle 110 watts RMS, say 22 volts. Then again, it all depends on how sensible you are with the volume knob. I was told the Type R tweeters are fragile and will blow easily but I wouldn't know this since I am running some CDT TW-25s with my Type R 6.5s.

TheeyaN
01-23-2009, 07:09 PM
I read some reviews on the web.. Alpine R type components NEED POWER! 120-150 rms.. I will put it on 22-23 V.. As for the tweeter they should be lowered to -8DB.. Those r some general reviews..

One thing i dont understand,about that test tone.. I know that for mids is 1khz and for sub its about 50hz,but what is the use of playing that tone when the speakers are dissconected?

Second question: When setting the subs gain,should the sub-control level also be 0?

gunz4me
01-23-2009, 08:42 PM
One thing i dont understand,about that test tone.. I know that for mids is 1khz and for sub its about 50hz,but what is the use of playing that tone when the speakers are dissconected?

Keep in mind that when you use a DMM to set your gains, it is not a means to an end, but designed to get you in the ball park. In most cases, you will still have to fine tune your gains a little to achieve optimum results. Using an oscilloscope would let you know if you were clipping with that particular test tone, but you would still have to fine tune everything by ear to blend your sub, mids, and highs together properly!

Also, you generally set the gains when using a DMM with your speakers DISCONNECTED so that you do not blow them. Running a test tone will be extremely hard on your amp and speakers should you choose to leave them connected while you are putzing around with the gain. I have seen a couple of people do this and fry their speakers in the process.



Second question: When setting the subs gain,should the sub-control level also be 0?

Where is the zero point on your subwoofer out? I know on my Alpine CDA-9885s that 15 is the "zero" point and anything under 15 on the sub is a cut to the subwoofer output. As a result, I set my gain with the subwoofer out @ maximum volume, or 15 in this particular case with the main volume at level 26.

TheeyaN
01-24-2009, 05:55 AM
I have a Pioneer 88RS HU.. I think that subcontrol goes from -6 to +6.. So basicly i should set it on +6,the highest level?

Alpine50
01-24-2009, 06:09 PM
Alpine50 Here.....I am running an Alpine PDX 4.150. That is 150 rms per channel.My head unit is from 2006 it is an Alpine 9847...3 pre-outs,had a gain knob(bass knob) put in for my PDX 1.1000[my sub amp],the 4.150.was set by my friend at my Alpine dealer.My Alpine head unit volume goes from 1-35,35 being the highest.The way my set-up is adjusted , when my volume is turned to 22,it is so loud and so clean,and my car is pounding and shaking so hard,no one in their right mind ,or,wth any common sense would turn it up more.I think the whole car would explode if I did.The whole idea with this is to be able to enjoy what you have,not to to see if you can fry electrical components.turn up that volume too fast,or to where you can hear your music begin to distort,or smell your subs cooking.If you have a lot of money to burn,then why not?I have the potential to put 150 rms on the 'r' comps.I'm sure I don't come close,Alpine makes efficient products.Hope this helps....TheeaN...PM me if you have more questions..Alpine50..................