PDA

View Full Version : would this amp work for my 6x9's?????????????????



ozzy87
01-14-2009, 10:14 PM
I've got some 350 watt max pioneers (don't remember the rms sorry) which don't have any amplifier hooked up to them. I've also got an old kenwood KAC-526 monoblock amp, my question is could i hook the amp up to the 6x9's without problems? Also how well would they work together?

MTX520
01-14-2009, 10:15 PM
monoblock amps are for woofers only....just get a 2 or 4 channel amp for it...if you hook it up you might blow them

Louisiana_CRX
01-14-2009, 10:17 PM
as long as it can run full range it will work....

ozzy87
01-14-2009, 10:17 PM
I know i'm a newbie, but why would you be able to hook a monoblock up to 2 subwoofers and not 2 6x9's?

MTX520
01-14-2009, 10:19 PM
as long as it can run full range it will work....

you could actually do that?....mostly people that have monoblock amps just use them with woofers

ozzy87
01-14-2009, 10:21 PM
i don't know anything about the amp, a buddy gave it to me, is it to powerful or no?

MTX520
01-14-2009, 10:22 PM
I know i'm a newbie, but why would you be able to hook a monoblock up to 2 subwoofers and not 2 6x9's?

because ok...6x9's were made for mids..(not for bass)...monoblock amps were made for bass(woofers only)...thats why theres multiple of diffrent amps made to work with certain type of speakers or woofers
EDIT: some one correctly me if im wrong

MTX520
01-14-2009, 10:23 PM
i don't know anything about the amp, a buddy gave it to me, is it to powerful or no?

do you even know the rms wattage of the amp?....

ozzy87
01-14-2009, 10:25 PM
no, i've tried google and it doesn't come up with anything, it has a 15amp fuse so i'd guess 150

MTX520
01-14-2009, 10:27 PM
no, i've tried google and it doesn't come up with anything, it has a 15amp fuse so i'd guess 150

oh.....well like Louisiana_CRX
as long as it can run full range it will work....

Louisiana_CRX
01-14-2009, 10:31 PM
its just one ch...(mono block) most are stable at least 2 ohms..so 2 four ohm 6x9's will give it a 2 ohm load.....it is in the rear deck...so seperation is not an issue like door speakers...as long as it has full range it should be perfect...if its a low pass only amp it won't work and will only be good for a small sub

Blue Fury
01-14-2009, 10:33 PM
monoblock amps are for woofers only....just get a 2 or 4 channel amp for it...if you hook it up you might blow them

WHAT?


Who told you that?

Trey803
01-14-2009, 10:34 PM
wouldn't that combine the left/right sound into one channel eliminating independent control of the speakers

brynm
01-14-2009, 10:38 PM
Does it look like this? http://www.audiophile.pl/p/219_kenwood_kac-526

Manual here http://www.scribd.com/doc/3275711/Kenwood-KAC526-kac526pdf-Owners-Manual-English says 2x35wrms or 1x100wrms bridged.

Quite a powerhouse.

brynm
01-14-2009, 10:38 PM
wouldn't that combine the left/right sound into one channel eliminating independent control of the speakers

It would but as mentioned you likely wouldn't be able to notice too much anyway.

MTX520
01-14-2009, 10:42 PM
WHAT?


Who told you that?

i dont member his name..but his a member here in ca.....thats what i heard...isnt it actually true thoug?...monoblocks are mostly for woofers?

brynm
01-14-2009, 10:50 PM
i dont member his name..but his a member here in ca.....thats what i heard...isnt it actually true thoug?...monoblocks are mostly for woofers?

Yes it is true, but that doesn't mean they will damage anything running other speakers. All the amp sees is a load, it doesn't know what that load is.

ozzy87
01-14-2009, 10:50 PM
ya that's the exact amp

MTX520
01-14-2009, 10:53 PM
Yes it is true, but that doesn't mean they will damage anything running other speakers. All the amp sees is a load, it doesn't know what that load is.

but why would you use some 6x9's with a monoblock?????...i rather go with some 2 or 4 channel amps....much better..thats what i think thoug..

ozzy87
01-14-2009, 11:56 PM
but why would you use some 6x9's with a monoblock?????...i rather go with some 2 or 4 channel amps....much better..thats what i think thoug..

honestly dude right now i'm broke, the amp was given to me and i thought it would make them sound better

MTX520
01-14-2009, 11:58 PM
but why would you use some 6x9's with a monoblock?????...i rather go with some 2 or 4 channel amps....much better..thats what i think thoug..

honestly dude right now i'm broke, the amp was given to me and i thought it would make them sound better

well my fault bro...in my case just buy a sub and use it with that amp...then save up money and get a good 2 or 4 channel amp...

ozzy87
01-15-2009, 11:10 AM
well i've already got the subs worked out, atleast until the summer when i upgrade. but it's all good bro, i'll probably try it out later on and see how well it works out