PDA

View Full Version : Tape player headunit..adding subs?



Phlipbak
01-14-2009, 11:25 AM
Ok guys, sorry to keep adding threads.. My buddy has a 2000 Mercedes CLK with a stock tape player headunit, no cd player, and they don't make wiring harnesses for these or headunit dash install kits..

so.. he still wants to install subs lol.. and has already bought everything..

Using a Line Output Converter, would subs work fine with the signal from a tape player?

twisztdauthorit
01-14-2009, 11:26 AM
dont see why not

Slim_Shady
01-14-2009, 11:27 AM
Any subs and amp you want
Hardest part is finding a line output converter that is compatible

Slim_Shady
01-14-2009, 11:29 AM
:laugh: Remember those casette adapters that you put in the tape deck, that's like a cassette with a wire coming off it to your cd walkman....
That's what he needs

Phlipbak
01-14-2009, 11:29 AM
Ah.... hmm.... where would I find one that's compatible and how will I know it's compatible....

Phlipbak
01-14-2009, 11:32 AM
What about this:

http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_6359_AudioControl+LC6i+-GRAY+LC6-.html

_DjScrew_
01-14-2009, 11:34 AM
uhh wouldn't a cleansweep do this?

Phlipbak
01-14-2009, 11:42 AM
And how would I hook up that lc6i..

Like would I splice the rear speaker wire into the rear inputs on the lc6i and run RCA's from the sub out to the amp or would I have to splice the rear speaker wire into the sub input..? And would I turn down the output knob on the converter or what?

_DjScrew_
01-14-2009, 11:48 AM
read the instructions.. it tells you how to hook it up. You splice your rear speaker wires and run an RCA from that unit to your amp and adjust accordingly

Phlipbak
01-14-2009, 11:49 AM
I realize that, but will--ok