PDA

View Full Version : Alpine HU



Lucid15
01-07-2009, 03:27 PM
Well... a little while ago i ahd a local shop attempt to install my Alpine X100 in my 95 GSX. I had previously tested the unit before on a battery and all worked fine. He wired it all in and the unit would not power up. He tested the essential wires with a multimeter and all seemed fine. So he said the unit is probably defective, he even tried benchtesting it and it wouldnt power it on. So i sent it to alpine and now its back. They said the unit is just fine accfording to the service record. So now i tried to plug it in today and still nothing. what the hell? Any ideas?

Lucid15
01-07-2009, 03:57 PM
just took a meter straight to the harness, the red,and yellow wires have current going to them. Just noticed something, my voltmeter is only reading 11 volts, could this cause the unit not to power up?

Lucid15
01-07-2009, 04:21 PM
turned the car on, it was at 13 volts and i tested the power to the harness and still NOTHING. omg.. what the hell is going on?

shaneb
01-07-2009, 04:24 PM
Check the ground man, if you have current in power, and no power, the circuit isn't getting completed. Check the ground and check fuses.

Lucid15
01-07-2009, 04:29 PM
well with the black end of the meter i plugged it in to the ground wire on the harness that plugs into the Alpine.

Lucid15
01-07-2009, 04:30 PM
Do i then still need to ground it manually instead of using the factory ground? even though im getting a power reading usin the harness ground and power?

shaneb
01-07-2009, 04:38 PM
Do i then still need to ground it manually instead of using the factory ground? even though im getting a power reading usin the harness ground and power?

You shouldn't need to. That's weird. Make sure the wires are actually connecting with eachother...
try poweringsomething else up. or try powering the unit up at the battery.

Lucid15
01-07-2009, 04:44 PM
also, when i turned on my car and plugged the harness in, it made a popping noise through my dash tweeters..... just once and it hasnt happened since...

shaneb
01-07-2009, 04:46 PM
also, when i turned on my car and plugged the harness in, it made a popping noise through my dash tweeters..... just once and it hasnt happened since...

short to ground maybe and blown fuse...
check all the wiring coming off the HU and check the wiring on the back make sure nothing is shorting.
take a picture of your harness and stuff and post it

Lucid15
01-07-2009, 04:52 PM
fuse is fine, so my headunit is blown again possibly?

Lucid15
01-07-2009, 04:59 PM
http://img530.imageshack.us/img530/8783/dsc01353js1.th.jpg (http://img530.imageshack.us/my.php?image=dsc01353js1.jpg)
http://img293.imageshack.us/img293/3115/dsc01354tv3.th.jpg (http://img293.imageshack.us/my.php?image=dsc01354tv3.jpg)
http://img530.imageshack.us/img530/9092/dsc01355fd0.th.jpg (http://img530.imageshack.us/my.php?image=dsc01355fd0.jpg)

Lucid15
01-07-2009, 09:08 PM
anyone got ideas?

x2o
01-07-2009, 09:21 PM
All the connections seem to be crimped and covered properly.. So nothing should be shorting. you say at the harness ground and the harness's +12V you get power but the unit doesn't turn on..? I find that very odd..

My opinion : Call Alpine..

Audio Products Technical Support
(Alpine Electronics of America, Inc.)
(800) TECH-101 (1-800-832-4101)

Lucid15
01-08-2009, 02:14 PM
ugh god ****... ive been without a stereo for 2 months! I cant believe this is happening again! What could possibly be the problem? i talked to an alpine person once and he seemed to have no idea about most problems.

Lucid15
01-08-2009, 03:10 PM
ok... just tested the unit STRAIGHT up to my kinetick Hc800 and it turned on... yay!! so i need to figure out why it is not powering it up inside my car. Would a blown fuse possibly put out enough current to make it show on my voltmeter?

Lucid15
01-08-2009, 03:33 PM
so by it not turning, what wire is not receiving current or not enough? fuses are fine.

Lucid15
01-08-2009, 06:43 PM
anyone got any input?

Lucid15
01-09-2009, 02:06 PM
bump