PDA

View Full Version : diamomd audio



jerseyboy
01-06-2009, 04:42 AM
I have a pair of diamond audio comp set (6.5) and i i was wondering if i dont have the flush mount tweeter holder for it, would it be bad to use tweeters from a different comp set that i have?

SSS 18734
01-06-2009, 05:31 AM
Not at all. Switching tweeters is pretty common.

NightDrifter05
01-06-2009, 05:54 AM
I wouldn't mismatch tweeters and mid's unless it's diamond audio tweeters. May run into some problem's with the different ohm loads and the crossover. But it's up to you. I would suggest look on ebay for the mounting equipment for whatever size tweeters you have.

HypnoticCure
01-06-2009, 05:59 AM
its done often but make sure they are decent tweets and the correct ohm load...

shaneb
01-06-2009, 06:01 AM
You could call Diamond and ask them to send you some flush mounts? It might cost 5 dollars :crazy:.
Your the consumer, Customer Support was designed for you.

jerseyboy
01-06-2009, 11:40 AM
does anyone know if i can use type r comp tweeters with the diamond audio comps in the mean time until I get the proper equipment?

Vestax
01-06-2009, 04:59 PM
I would say over 80% of passive crossovers out there all use the same configuration, 3khz is somehow the magic number. Even if it was off a bit, you should be okay, as long as you're not stupid enough to bottom out the crap out of it. Change 'em if they have matching impedances.

okiedokie
01-06-2009, 07:29 PM
you can always contact diamond audio about their ohm loads with any of there xovers, just to make to easier for yourself.

xreymax
01-08-2009, 10:36 AM
its easy what type of comps are they ? hexs, d6's or d3's?
i have some surface mounts for some hexs.