PDA

View Full Version : DirectTV HD Content?



bball09124
01-02-2009, 04:19 PM
I'm not quite sure how all this HD works, but I know that my XBOX with HDMI cable @ 720p (I've only got a 720p plasma) absolutely kills any DirectTV content I get right now. From my DirectTV box, I have my red and white going to my surround sound, and the video cable from the Directtv box to the ANT IN in the back of the TV.

Do I need an HD Directtv box? Or something else?

azimuth
01-02-2009, 04:23 PM
I'm not quite sure how all this HD works, but I know that my XBOX with HDMI cable @ 720p (I've only got a 720p plasma) absolutely kills any DirectTV content I get right now. From my DirectTV box, I have my red and white going to my surround sound, and the video cable from the Directtv box to the ANT IN in the back of the TV.

Do I need an HD Directtv box? Or something else?

you need the HD box, and the HD programming. i have dish network, and the dish also has to be switched out for HD. and you need the hd wiring to the tv also.

kpozr2
01-02-2009, 04:23 PM
no HDMI out on your directTV box? idk what question you are trying to ask

bball09124
01-02-2009, 04:25 PM
no HDMI out on your directTV box? idk what question you are trying to ask

Nope :(

I'm just trying to figure out why the picture from my XBOX is so much better than from DirectTV.

blazeplacid
01-02-2009, 04:28 PM
if you running just standard diretcv the picture will look ok but not anywhere close to HD

you need an Directv HD reciver,HD dish and HD programming.
Does your directv box say "HD" on it anywhere?

easiest thing to do is to call directv and tell them you want to upgrade to HD
its $10/month for HD service

NightDrifter05
01-02-2009, 05:32 PM
Yes, you have to call and upgrade to the HD package which in turn they will have a new dish installed and give you a HD Receiver and DVR if you pay a extra $5. My DirectTV HD look's flawless and from what you said you don't seem to have the HD service which would explain why it look's so bad. My bill is normally around $143 a month and that's with 2 room's, HD-DVR and all the HBO, Cinemax, Starz, NBA League Pass, and all the HD channel's.

DBfan187
01-02-2009, 05:43 PM
Easiest way to tell is by looking at your dish to see if it has a triple LNB, if not it's not HD.

Bigrick31
01-06-2009, 06:14 PM
probably because most hd channels are only broadcast in 480i I have comcast with the HD box and it never goes about 480i . To get the best possible image from the low quality broadcasts i would get a HDMI cable check ebay they sell those $150 monster cables for about $35

teenapp
01-06-2009, 09:10 PM
probably because most hd channels are only broadcast in 480i I have comcast with the HD box and it never goes about 480i . To get the best possible image from the low quality broadcasts i would get a HDMI cable check ebay they sell those $150 monster cables for about $35

Actually Directv broadcast in 1080i format, soon to be 1080p and they have 130 channels in HD, soon to be 165 in late feb!

atoz350
01-27-2009, 07:28 PM
Actually Directv broadcast in 1080i format, soon to be 1080p and they have 130 channels in HD, soon to be 165 in late feb!

Wrong! DirectTV broadcasts in 720p, but you'll be hardpressed to tell the difference. They are not going to be broadcasting in 1080p.