PDA

View Full Version : slot port



jbl_marshall21
08-03-2003, 11:43 PM
ok thinking slot port right now. now i have never done a slot port but how hard could it be. o well anyways i have outer deminisions of 36/16/27 which comes to a total internal volume of 7.38^ft3. what i want is about 3 cubes per sub after the port displacement and sub displacement. i was thinking something tuned around 27 or so. i think this is still a low enough tuning that i won't need a ssf. what ever size of port u guys think would work best then that is what i will probaly do. thank you in advance. i'm lost without u box geniuses.

jbl_marshall21
08-05-2003, 09:34 AM
bump.........

dbhittin
08-05-2003, 03:25 PM
its easier to make the port on the end of the box, and just use the side as part of it. and make it how ever tall your box is, and then figure out how wide and deep it is

jbl_marshall21
08-05-2003, 07:25 PM
yea using the wall for the side of port would be easier. but this box is gonna be for style and ****. i think atleast. i was thinking about putting a port in the middle in between the subs. put some mirrors in the port cuz i'm gonna have some neons in there and be blingin. i wish i knew how to use winisd pro but i don't so if any of u guys could help me out it would be really appreciated. thanks

jbl_marshall21
08-06-2003, 06:00 PM
bump plz guys help me. i'm so desperate. :( :confused:

ShaunMac
08-06-2003, 06:19 PM
So you have 36 x 16 x 27 inches to work with.
You want 3 cu ft per sub after displacements.
Tuning @27Hz with center mounted square port.

What is the displacement of each of your subs?

What side of the box do you want the subs?
the 16" side?
the 27" side?

jbl_marshall21
08-07-2003, 12:11 AM
well i want it on the 36" side. so you have some room to work with. i have never done a slot port so i don't know how wide i should make the slot port or anything. i'm guessing the displacement is about .3 for each sub. thanks for helpin

ShaunMac
08-07-2003, 05:54 PM
well i want it on the 36" side. so you have some room to work with. i have never done a slot port so i don't know how wide i should make the slot port or anything. i'm guessing the displacement is about .3 for each sub. thanks for helpin

WOW! .3 cu ft. per sub!
My eD 15 is only .08 cu ft.

What subs do you have? I think .3 cu ft. is a little high.

The box will be about 36" wide. That means your subs will be mounted either on the 16" side B or 27" side A.
Which side would you want the subs and the port to be on?
Look at this picture.

jbl_marshall21
08-07-2003, 06:16 PM
****'t i'm so dumb :banghead: anyways the displacement is .072. i just said .3 cuz i remember somebody saying something about .3 or .03. couldn't remember.

i would like the subs and port on side A (36/16) if there is room. i'm pretty sure it will fit. thanks for helping me out.

there the pioneer ts-304c 12"s
most watts i would ever run to each of them would be 380 rms.

ShaunMac
08-07-2003, 06:42 PM
Do you mean side B that is 16" x 36" ?

You want the subs on the smaller side of the box. Right?

jbl_marshall21
08-07-2003, 07:36 PM
**** this is a tough day. yea side B 36" by 16" side

ShaunMac
08-07-2003, 08:31 PM
It'll be alright man. Everyone has those days. ;)

You're sure you want 3 cu ft. per sub? Is that what Pioneer reccomends for a ported enclosure?
Just curious.

Also, you want the port to be in the center. Between the subs?

I'll work on some figures and give you some drawings tomorrow.

Can you come up with any drawings or sketches to illustrate the basic idea you have for this box?
They might help me make sure I design something you'll like.

Does this look like what you want?

jbl_marshall21
08-07-2003, 09:05 PM
yea that picture is perfectly what i want. yea i was going towards 3^ft per sub for the spl. i think recommended is like 1.3 but hey who goes by that anyway.

uh we can make the deminsions smaller if the subs and port displacement don't get it down to 6^ft3. cuz 3 is plenty for each sub.

ShaunMac
08-07-2003, 11:30 PM
3 cu ft. per sub is going to give you a large peak above tuning feq.
Which is great for SPL!! But stray too far above or below the tuning freq. and the output will drop off big time. Which is bad for SQ.

Just something to think about.

I have a single 15 slot ported in a large box. It sounds great around the tuning freq, but play something with higher bass that is above the tuning freq and the output is very limited. And the loss of that higher octave of bass energy can diminish the sonic impact of many recordings. And the high output around the tuning freq can be quite overwhelming and unrealistic on some recordings, giving the music a muddy bassed out sound. Enclosures with large peaks have advantages and disadvantages. Just depends on what type of sound you're after.

If your looking for sheer volume at expense of SQ, go with the 3 cuft.
But if you want a flatter more balanced sound try 1.5 - 2.25 cu ft.

I'll try to work on some numbers tomorrow for you.
for the 3 cu ft per sub enclosure tuned@27Hz.

BTW what types of music do you listen to most often?

jbl_marshall21
08-08-2003, 11:22 AM
so u think 3 is too much. i understand what ur saying about 3 cubes. well i do want good sq. so what did it say about 2.5? i want it as big as i can get without losing the sq. i'm saying a ratio of 70sq/30spl. so if i have to go like 2.25 for each then i will. i just wanted it to be louder than what i had. how much displacement will the port probaly take?

anyways to make the deminsions smaller i have chosen 36w/15h/20d. if u need to change something to get it the right size change the depth.

i'll take 2.5 if u think it will still sound good. other wise 2.25 is fine. were u talking 2.25 after port displacement? thanks

ShaunMac
08-08-2003, 05:40 PM
Well here are the figures I came up with.

jbl_marshall21
08-08-2003, 07:29 PM
well that looks really good to me. looks like there won't be any port noise. what did it say about about the frequency response. was the sq alright? thanks for taking time.

ShaunMac
08-08-2003, 09:22 PM
There shouldn't be any port noise. And as far as freq response goes, you will just have to see what your vehicle produces.

Your vehicles acoustics will be the determining factor in your overall freq response.

Have you talked to anyone that has the same subs you're using to see what they have tried and what works best?

Before you decide on a final design I would ask around. Some subs can be very picky with ported enclosure designs. I'm not familar with Pioneer subs and how well they do in ported applications.

I'm only telling you this because I don't want you to build an enclosure that you're not going to be happy with.

jbl_marshall21
08-08-2003, 09:40 PM
There shouldn't be any port noise. And as far as freq response goes, you will just have to see what your vehicle produces.

Your vehicles acoustics will be the determining factor in your overall freq response.

Have you talked to anyone that has the same subs you're using to see what they have tried and what works best?

Before you decide on a final design I would ask around. Some subs can be very picky with ported enclosure designs. I'm not familar with Pioneer subs and how well they do in ported applications.

I'm only telling you this because I don't want you to build an enclosure that you're not going to be happy with.

i'll try asking around. not alot people have subs as cheap as mine. but anyways yea i'll give it a shot and if it doesn't sound great i'll blame u for everything. j/k man. if it doesn't sound better i might try a lower tuning. i'll make it so i can do some changes to the box when i first build it and then if i like the sound then i'll finalize it. thank you very very much, ur the only guy who tried so i appreciate it alot :) . this would be my first slot port so i hope everything works out.