PDA

View Full Version : 2 alpine type R 10" box



natin
12-27-2008, 08:46 PM
I dont know how to figure whats needed for a box. so i need plans for a ported box for two type R's 10". thanks for any help

Skip01
12-27-2008, 08:50 PM
http://img29.imageshack.us/img29/5735/25cubes28hz3375sqin6ex.png (http://img29.imageshack.us/my.php?image=25cubes28hz3375sqin6ex.png)
http://img79.imageshack.us/img79/25cubes28hz3375sqin6ex.png/1/w570.png (http://g.imageshack.us/img79/25cubes28hz3375sqin6ex.png/1/)

natin
12-27-2008, 08:54 PM
can i put two subs in that box? sorry im very new at boxes

RNSkipper
12-27-2008, 08:54 PM
No you cant.

natin
12-27-2008, 08:57 PM
as i thought. want a design for 2 subs

Skip01
12-27-2008, 09:01 PM
No you cant.

Why not?

That box face is 32in long......you could put 3 10s in it if you want

dj8565
12-27-2008, 11:36 PM
Why not?

That box face is 32in long......you could put 3 10s in it if you want

That box doesn't have enough airspace for two type R's ported. Sure they would fit, just probably wouldn't sound very good.

Skip01
12-28-2008, 10:04 AM
That box doesn't have enough airspace for two type R's ported. Sure they would fit, just probably wouldn't sound very good.

Says who?

That box is 2.5cu

How much airspace you think a 10" needs?, the optimum vented box specs by Alpine is 1cu

I ran 2 12s in 1.5cu a piece, sounded great

RAM_Designs
12-29-2008, 07:47 AM
Says who?

That box is 2.5cu

How much airspace you think a 10" needs?, the optimum vented box specs by Alpine is 1cu

I ran 2 12s in 1.5cu a piece, sounded great

Don't mind the noob.

GAM3OVR
12-29-2008, 07:53 AM
That box doesn't have enough airspace for two type R's ported. Sure they would fit, just probably wouldn't sound very good.

Box seems fine to me

conn.am
01-12-2009, 02:14 PM
Im looking for something similar.

conn.am
01-14-2009, 02:22 PM
BJFISH recommended a net of 3 cubic feet. What will that sound like compared to 2.5 cubic feet or even 2 cubic feet.

What will a port design tuned to 30 hz sound like compared to one tuned to 34 hz?

conn.am
01-14-2009, 02:44 PM
anybody?

Lakota
01-14-2009, 03:39 PM
A bigger box tends to have a flatter response, but the larger you go the less power the sub can mechanically handle.

The 30hz box will have a lower peak than the 34 hz box. Unless you play nothing but lows, I'd tune a little higher than 30.

basshedz06
01-14-2009, 05:05 PM
i am with skip this design will work for those 10's cause i have them in a similair size box in my wife's concord an they wang on 1200watts. hell i put 2 15's in a 4 cube box all day and it wangs. don't really understand the big boxes for 10's or whatever but do what you will man. don't ask for help then question the helper like its not gonna work.