PDA

View Full Version : Audioque SD 2.5 emclosure



reminc70
12-27-2008, 12:14 AM
Hey I'm designing a box for an impala that is 7.5 cft for 3 audioque sd2.5 12" subs. I've been looking over Audioque's website but that has confused me more than helped me. The box is going to measure 34X30.5X15.25. The subs will be firing up with a port pointing towards the back of the trunk horizontal along the bottom of the box. I just need the port dimensions. I'm not familiar with Audioque's tuning preference, I saw 40hz on the site but that seems pretty high.

skmfkr
12-27-2008, 12:17 AM
upper 30s somewhere mine for my 18 is gonna be 40hz and my 15 was 40hz

mazdakid
12-27-2008, 12:34 AM
6 cubes at 38hz would be ok for them

mlstrass
12-27-2008, 02:07 AM
6 cubes at 38hz would be ok for them

with 96^2 of port area...

ARSkemp
12-27-2008, 03:21 AM
6 cubes at 38hz would be ok for them


with 96^2 of port area...



^^^ x2

Johnny Law.Lulz
12-27-2008, 03:32 AM
are these the ones under the SDC's

reminc70
12-27-2008, 05:54 PM
oh, my bad, there sdc 2.5s. so 6 cubes would be good? and if the port area is 96in^2 how deep would it have to be if the port was 3inX12in?

mlstrass
12-27-2008, 06:00 PM
oh, my bad, there sdc 2.5s. so 6 cubes would be good? and if the port area is 96in^2 how deep would it have to be if the port was 3inX12in?

3 x 12 = 36, so no where near enough port area. If you do the 96^2 of port then 18" long would be a 38Hz tune..

reminc70
12-27-2008, 07:06 PM
yea im doin a slotport, so ur sayin 3X12X18in?

ARSkemp
12-27-2008, 07:16 PM
no, you need to have a larger port area (you port needs to be taller/wider or both)

I don't know what your box is going to look like, but something like 8" x 12" (not 3 x 12) and 18 inches long is what you need. or a 6 x 16, or 4 x 24 or any combination that will = about 96 in^2

reminc70
12-27-2008, 07:38 PM
so would alright so say my port will be 18 wide, 3 high how long will it be? Im sorry im askin step by step but im havin trouble with these calculators

ARSkemp
12-27-2008, 07:43 PM
Can you still make your port larger? I would recommend the Height x Width to be least = mid 70s or larger, to avoid port noise.

reminc70
12-27-2008, 08:08 PM
I could go up to 4X18 and up to 22 on depth

reminc70
12-28-2008, 04:59 AM
OK I think the final port design will be 24X4X18 on the bottom edge of the box. Will this be ok?

mlstrass
12-28-2008, 09:14 AM
you'll need to figure out your tuning then as the 18" length is for 96^2 of port area...

reminc70
12-28-2008, 07:50 PM
I need to tune it to 38hz. With 96sq in of port area how deep does it need to be?

mlstrass
12-28-2008, 09:41 PM
18" deep port...

kodak314
12-29-2008, 12:14 AM
oh, my bad, there sdc 2.5s. so 6 cubes would be good? and if the port area is 96in^2 how deep would it have to be if the port was 3inX12in?

why u only usin 12in when your height is 15.25in?

RAM_Designs
12-29-2008, 08:42 AM
It also depends on how skinny/square you port is too. The more square shaped it becomes, the shorter it needs to be to achieve the same tuning...and vice versa with it becoming skinny, it then needs to be longer for the same tuning. Your best bet is to just use the calcs on carstereo.com, which I have found to be VERY close to what winISD gives me for port length...within an inch most of the time.