PDA

View Full Version : how to find port area need help asap



81chevystep
12-26-2008, 04:38 PM
i need to know the equation for finding the port area asap please

thanks guys

hatemonger
12-26-2008, 04:40 PM
for slot ports, 12-16 square inches per square foot of box space.

81chevystep
12-26-2008, 04:49 PM
i know that but i need an equation to find the port area of a port cuase i need to get 132 sq*2 inches of port area at 35 hz for an 8 cube box net

thanks

bonesninja
12-26-2008, 05:01 PM
i know that but i need an equation to find the port area of a port cuase i need to get 132 sq*2 inches of port area at 35 hz for an 8 cube box net

thanks

wow....its width X height= port area

gattaluvdatBASS
12-26-2008, 05:07 PM
i was wondering this to.

bonesninja, so if the height is 14" and the width is 3 1/2" it would be 14x3 1/2=49 so it would be 49 sq*2 of port?

bonesninja
12-26-2008, 05:10 PM
i was wondering this to.

bonesninja, so if the height is 14" and the width is 3 1/2" it would be 14x3 1/2=49 so it would be 49 sq*2 of port?

bingo

hatemonger
12-26-2008, 05:11 PM
i was wondering this to.

bonesninja, so if the height is 14" and the width is 3 1/2" it would be 14x3 1/2=49 so it would be 49 sq*2 of port?

yep. you need to do more like 8 inches wide to get your desired port area. even though you really only need 100-120 sq. inches or so with that box, for a daily driver.

bonesninja
12-26-2008, 05:14 PM
yep. you need to do more like 8 inches wide to get your desired port area. even though you really only need 100-120 sq. inches or so with that box, for a daily driver.

he's not the OP.....but the OP's question is pretty unclear, i think he might be looking for the actual length not the port area. Quick calc's tell me he needs around 27 inches port length for 35 hertz in an 8 cube net box

hatemonger
12-26-2008, 05:15 PM
he's not the OP.....but the OP's question is pretty unclear, i think he might be looking for the actual length not the port area. Quick calc's tell me he needs around 27 inches port length for 35 hertz in an 8 cube box

i was agreeing with him by saying "yep", the rest was to the op.

bonesninja
12-26-2008, 05:16 PM
i was agreeing with him by saying "yep", the rest was to the op.

my bad son

crawlinYJ
12-26-2008, 05:16 PM
dont include the port in the volume. if your port is 8"x14"x X"L, then you need to figure out the overall displacement using external dimensions of the port. then subtract that from the net volume of the box (using the boxes internal dimensions).

i always figure out the box size i want, then the port i need for that box, then build the box that much bigger to accomodate the port and the volume it takes up.

hatemonger
12-26-2008, 05:17 PM
he's not the OP.....but the OP's question is pretty unclear, i think he might be looking for the actual length not the port area. Quick calc's tell me he needs around 27 inches port length for 35 hertz in an 8 cube net box

maybe so, but he needs alot more port area than that for 8 cubes either way.

crawlinYJ
12-26-2008, 05:17 PM
and someone needs the tuning curve chart. if you want to use round ports, here you go.

http://www.car-fi.com/techcenter/vent6.htm

bonesninja
12-26-2008, 05:19 PM
maybe so, but he needs alot more port area than that for 8 cubes either way.

i just answered his question, it seems as if he know exactly what he wants already....and that port area is fine for an 8 cube box

bonesninja
12-26-2008, 05:21 PM
and someone needs the tuning curve chart. if you want to use round ports, here you go.

http://www.car-fi.com/techcenter/vent6.htm

maybe he wanted a slot port

hatemonger
12-26-2008, 05:21 PM
i just answered his question, it seems as if he know exactly what he wants already....and that port area is fine for an 8 cube box

he stated that he has 49 sq. inches of port, which i believe is too small.

bonesninja
12-26-2008, 05:23 PM
he stated that he has 49 sq. inches of port, which i believe is too small.

the OP said he needs 132...another poster said 49sq. in and mentioned nothing of a box size

hatemonger
12-26-2008, 05:27 PM
the OP said he needs 132...another poster said 49sq. in and mentioned nothing of a box size

my mistake. stoned reading ftl.:crap:

bonesninja
12-26-2008, 05:28 PM
my mistake. stoned reading ftl.:crap:

lol...i was starting to get a headache.

hatemonger
12-26-2008, 05:29 PM
lol...i was starting to get a headache.

i just got rid of mine, and gave it to someone else:D

81chevystep
12-26-2008, 05:40 PM
thanks guys i got it. now just one more question, this box is for 2 ia dp 15's and going in an 96 ext cab gmc 1500 with subs forward and slot port up should the port go to the drives side up or passinger side?

thanks again

hatemonger
12-26-2008, 05:42 PM
thanks guys i got it. now just one more question, this box is for 2 ia dp 15's and going in an 96 ext cad gmc 1500 with subs forward and slot port up should the port go to the drives side up or passinger side?

thanks again

passenger side for a daily driver. drivers side for competing.

81chevystep
12-26-2008, 05:47 PM
what about for both? and what would the down side be fo either one?

crawlinYJ
12-29-2008, 10:05 AM
maybe he wanted a slot port

guestimate. it will get you in the ball park for a slot port.

Rashaddd
12-29-2008, 10:43 AM
did this question really get asked...?