PDA

View Full Version : 3 15 Se's ported nigguhs



Cravingbass123
12-23-2008, 05:30 AM
what up forum

i was gonna do 8 12's, then i was gonna do 4 12's ported or 4 15's sealed and as of a few dayz ago i was talked into doing 3 15's ported!!!!

yeah, so they will be re audio se's, dual 2's wired to 1.33 ohms from mah gp3000d-pro, so around 750-800 to each 15.

so i need to make the perfect ported box for the 3.
basically just for daily groundpounding.

so re says they want 4 cubes each, so a 12 cube net box should do the trick!! at 33 hz should be nice,
but how much port area should i give em?? 120?

good night. its beenn a long one

Cravingbass123
12-23-2008, 11:27 AM
in the bed bump

groundpound4200
12-23-2008, 11:33 AM
I'd go bigger on the port are if you have room. Closer to 150-170 square inches if you have room.

RAM_Designs
12-23-2008, 01:06 PM
Just depends on how much room you have to work with. I like using huge ports(around 14-18in^2 per ft^3) for my daily driving. But sometimes it's hard to make it all fit, especially if you're tuning lower than 35hz. Once you get to 32hz and less, ports start to become really long in most scenarios, and it's just easier to go with a smaller port that's maybe 10-12in^2 per ft^3 in order to keep the desired low tuning.

What did you want the box to be tuned to?

Cravingbass123
12-23-2008, 01:36 PM
changed mah mind going 4 12 sx's ported. lolol so i can put them in 8-9 cubes instead of 12-13 cubes for 3 15 se's.
getting a pretty good local hook up.

how much port area should i do ryanm? will be at 32 or 33 hz

RAM_Designs
12-23-2008, 01:40 PM
100in^2 is good for 8-9 cubes. It'll be hard to use more and not end up having a 30" long port that takes up 3ft^3(loosely speaking)

Cravingbass123
12-23-2008, 11:15 PM
im gonna do 120-130 port area cuz its bettttaaaa and bigggga

StillLearnin11
12-24-2008, 06:09 PM
Lol.

ThatChevyGuy
12-24-2008, 06:12 PM
id go three se 15's.
Why? its cheaper, and close if not more output than 4 sx's.

Cravingbass123
12-25-2008, 01:43 AM
id go three se 15's.
Why? its cheaper, and close if not more output than 4 sx's.

yuh i know,
if i go with 3 15s last minute, maybe i should get 3 audioque sd2.5 15's, cuz they should get louder than se's, and cost the same.

whatcha forumers think??

MisterGrubbs
12-25-2008, 01:53 AM
Well

Slightly overpowering SE's

Slightly underpowering SX's

Three 15's = 529.88

Four 12's = 452.16

Three 15's have more cone area, by a decent margin I'd say. Lets seeeee

Thought you could expect around 2500 or so, par se, at that ohmload on that amplifier?

If so, three 15" woofers at 850 or so rms...

Hell, why not buy three used SX 15's?

You can come up with a woofer that will outperform the RE SE in output, by far, with that kind of power.

Type R would do it, I can only imagine. Tons of other ways to do it as well

If that amp will handle .67, I'd say just wire them down that way, if it were me, otherwise consider some other SPL oriented subs in the 750-850 rms range.

And if you're looking for loudness, the SDC's would probably do better for you than the SEs.

Cravingbass123
12-27-2008, 12:17 AM
how many cubes should I put 3 15" SE's in? i mean i could do a full 4 cubes for each, but a 12 cube net ported box is pretty big.

chunky cumz
12-27-2008, 12:20 AM
i just did a re se build... did it in 7.5 cubes.... 4 4 inch aero ports tuned to 32 hertz


edit: it was 3 12" re SE's