PDA

View Full Version : viper 5900 install



theking
12-22-2008, 03:50 AM
So i am looking to get this alarm for my truck

http://cgi.ebay.com/VIPER-5900-2-WAY-CAR-ALARM-REMOTE-START-SYSTEM-PAGING_W0QQitemZ290280577867QQihZ019QQcategoryZ948 32QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

I also see i have to have a bypass for my truck this one

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&item=180273465725

How hard is that to install a shop said 40 extra bucks to install that. What all consist of installing the bypass.

Then the proxomity sensor i also want

http://cgi.ebay.com/DEI-508D-Dual-Zone-Field-Proximity-Disturbance-Sensor_W0QQitemZ200289115446QQihZ010QQcategoryZ753 89QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

They also said 40 bucks to install this, cant i do this myself it should just plug into the alarm and then you set the sensor manually and thats it correct. Is the bypass like that too or no.

They said 150 for the install plus 80 for the bypass and sensor but i figure i can do the sensor myself since it seems to just plug in and set the sensor and thats it correct. So i think 205 for the alarm+15 for the bypass+40 for the sensor+150 for install+ 40 or 80 if i can install the bypass myself or not

so total if i cant do both myself only 410
if i can do just the sensor looking at 450
cant do neither 490 not bad i guess

But can i install one of those or both myself.

theking
12-22-2008, 04:04 AM
maybe a few people on here know wat i am talking bout would love to find out if i can do the bypass or at least the sensor myself

Worlddre
12-22-2008, 08:16 AM
let the shop do it....i can always do a better install if i get every component being installed given to me and am allowed to plan my own install instead of dealing with part of it someone has already done. IN the end you will likely get a better install

bigaudiofanatic
12-22-2008, 12:08 PM
Were ya live?

theking
12-22-2008, 01:50 PM
i aint asking bout doing it myself just mainly doing the bypass or the proxomity sensor can i install one of those myself doesnt the proxomity sensor just plug into the brain and set the setting on the sensor and thats it correct

theking
12-22-2008, 08:58 PM
bump

THUNDERBIRD
12-22-2008, 10:29 PM
let the shop do it all. you cant install the bypass yourself because it ties into the alarm/rs and you cant test the rs with out the bypass hooked up and working properly, and the proximity sensors are a ***** to dial in. let them do it. i have installed 1 prox and hated it. a properly installed and adjusted shock sensor and possibly a tilt is more than sufficient. only need for a prox is a convertible or jeep.

theking
12-23-2008, 03:05 AM
ok well no need for tilt sensor i dont think since i dont have custom rims on my car and if i get them will get locking lugnut where it cant come off anyway. Reason i want the proxomity sensor so if someone is looking inside my truck from the outside it will tell them to get away or is that the whole point of the alarm to suprise them haha.

If they break the window and open the door the alarm will go off but if they dont open the door it wont go off thats why i wanted a proxomity sensor incase they broke the window just perfect where it didnt make the shock sensor go off once they put their hand inside or crawled inside it would go off, does that sound right?

SB3BabyHuey
12-23-2008, 03:10 AM
yes

SB3BabyHuey
12-23-2008, 03:10 AM
still say dotn do it urself though

theking
12-23-2008, 03:25 AM
yea i understand that i just figured i seen the bypass comes with directions and the business told me they arent too hard to install just follow the directions, and for the tilt sensor and proxomity sensor are just plug and play and not too hard to set the settings on, supposly only 3 setttings on the proxomity sensor low med high for sensitivty. The shop said 150 for the install plus 40 for each sensor so 40 for the proxomity and 40 for the bypass so looking at 230 for install plus the alarm is 205 plus 15 for the bypass and 30 for the sensor so total installed looking at 480 not too bad i guess.

But i still would like to be able to install the proxomity sensor myself to save 40 bucks or possibly both to save 80 bucks but would be happy to at least be able to do just the proxomity sensor

theking
12-23-2008, 05:22 PM
upppp

nittanylion64
12-23-2008, 05:27 PM
I would just let the shop do it all. If the shop has a warranty on their work they will most definitely void it after seeing what you have added.

mokedaddy
12-23-2008, 06:41 PM
Chances are if you install the bypass and/or motion sensor you will have zero warranty on labor in which case you should have just done it yourself.

theking
12-23-2008, 06:43 PM
ok thanks