PDA

View Full Version : Threaded rod



CrownVicon24's
12-21-2008, 10:47 PM
Does anyone know where I can get threaded rod for bracing inside my box? Went to Lowes and Home Depot today and had no luck. I also need it cut a certain length can they do that wherever I get it from?

RAM_Designs
12-21-2008, 10:55 PM
No luck at HD or Lowe's? There's tons of threaded rod at the ones near me...

CrownVicon24's
12-21-2008, 10:59 PM
IDK I went in there asked for help because I didnt know where it was. The gut sent me to cable wire. I went back to him and he recommended me to go to some place I never heard of. This was a guy at Lowes, I figured if they didnt have it at Lowes they wouldnt have it at Home Depot. Guess I was wrong I will try HD tomorrow.

dumple
12-21-2008, 11:01 PM
they def have it i think i got mine near plumbing

CrownVicon24's
12-21-2008, 11:02 PM
Ok thanks guys. Do you guys know if they cut it or do I have to get someone else to cut it?

dumple
12-21-2008, 11:03 PM
they should be able to cut it

revots
12-21-2008, 11:04 PM
If you have a Ferguson or Noland Plumbing supply co. near you, they will have it for sure.

phantom240
12-21-2008, 11:11 PM
www.fastenal.com

have fun.

mlstrass
12-21-2008, 11:28 PM
usually at the end of the nuts/bolts isle in Home Depot, by the angle iron, flat metal, etc...

RAM_Designs
12-21-2008, 11:29 PM
usually at the end of the nuts/bolts isle in Home Depot, by the angle iron, flat metal, etc...

x2

CrownVicon24's
12-21-2008, 11:33 PM
Ok I will check again in the morning. Whats funny is that you guys are alot more help than the guy at Lowes and he actually gets paid to help customers.

JimJ
12-21-2008, 11:36 PM
All you need to cut threaded rod is a hacksaw.

Cabin_Pressure
12-21-2008, 11:40 PM
usually at the end of the nuts/bolts isle in Home Depot, by the angle iron, flat metal, etc...

x 3 its there find a customer to help you, probably have better luck!

CrownVicon24's
12-21-2008, 11:42 PM
x 3 its there find a customer to help you, probably have better luck!

Yeah I know should have got another customers help today, I would have my box braced already.

fast85_gt
12-21-2008, 11:44 PM
you need to ask for all thred thats what it is called

RAM_Designs
12-22-2008, 12:10 AM
I get mine for free off a job site :D

Alex JB
12-22-2008, 10:46 AM
sounds like an expensive way to brace?
Why not just use wood?

I thought you usually see threaded rod used for is transmitting big gauge power through wall builds etc (like a buzz bar).
The guy with the clam shell build of 16 E8's did this.

CrownVicon24's
12-22-2008, 05:59 PM
sounds like an expensive way to brace?
Why not just use wood?

I thought you usually see threaded rod used for is transmitting big gauge power through wall builds etc (like a buzz bar).
The guy with the clam shell build of 16 E8's did this.

Yeah I ended up using wood didnt want to drill holes in my box and the wood was easier to use.