PDA

View Full Version : Need Sketchup RD HW



TC2k15x2
12-21-2008, 11:22 AM
I need help with an enclosure design for my 15" RD HW, the space I have to work with is 14" tall 34" wide and 15"deep. Id like to tune to 40hz, sub up port back and help will be credited in my build log. Id really apprecieate this.

Specs:
15"
FS 44.7 HZ
RE 3.6 OHM
QMS 9.63
QES 0.412
QTS 0.395
RMS 11.05
CMS 0.0334 MM/N
MMS 378.26 G
BL 32.14 TM
SPL@1W 91.83 DB
VAS 37.83 L
XMAX 15 MM
XCOIL 55 MM

RAM_Designs
12-21-2008, 11:39 AM
PMed ya...you only have about 3.175 ft^3 to work with, before any kind of displacement...being that small and tuned that high, you'll have a hard time getting any low-end out of it.

TC2k15x2
12-21-2008, 11:40 AM
ttt

MisterGrubbs
12-21-2008, 11:42 AM
You dont have enough room for a ported 15 bossman

Thats only like 2.75 cubes, roughly, off the top of my head - - If my mind's working right ha

TC2k15x2
12-21-2008, 11:42 AM
PMed ya

replied

TC2k15x2
12-21-2008, 11:44 AM
You dont have enough room for a ported 15 bossman

Thats only like 2.75 cubes, roughly, off the top of my head - - If my mind's working right ha

huh?

MisterGrubbs
12-21-2008, 11:48 AM
Look at ya Ryan - reediting your post and making me look like Mr. Dumbdick down here.

OP - the woofer needs a larger enclosure than that, quite simply. However, it will work in that enclosure with a higher tuning and with you realizing you're not going to be wowing people under 35hz

What kind of power were ya looking at sending at it?

TC2k15x2
12-21-2008, 11:52 AM
Look at ya Ryan - reediting your post and making me look like Mr. Dumbdick down here.

OP - the woofer needs a larger enclosure than that, quite simply. However, it will work in that enclosure with a higher tuning and with you realizing you're not going to be wowing people under 35hz

What kind of power were ya looking at sending at it?

My math shows that it would be around 4.35 before port diplacement. I can make it slightly deeper, like 17 inches. I will be throwing somewhere between 3500-4000k rms to it. What should I tune to with this sub im looking to get loud.

mjf
12-21-2008, 12:09 PM
My math shows that it would be around 4.35 before port diplacement. I can make it slightly deeper, like 17 inches. I will be throwing somewhere between 3500-4000k rms to it. What should I tune to with this sub im looking to get loud.

your math *****, because you still need to take into account the thickness of the wood ;)

before any displacements whatsoever

(12.5*32.5 *13.5) / 1728 = 3.17382812 cubic ft airspace

17 deep

(12.5*32.5*15.5) / 1728 = 3.64402488 cubic ft

you dont have enough room for that sub, plain and simple.

TC2k15x2
12-21-2008, 12:11 PM
before any displacements whatsoever

(12.5*32.5 *13.5) / 1728 = 3.17382812 cubic ft airspace

17 deep

(12.5*32.5*15.5) / 1728 = 3.64402488 cubic ft

you dont have enough room for that sub, plain and simple.

Your right, whats reccomended for this sub? Forget about those dimensions earlier, I can do 12.5 tall, 36 wide, 20 deep. Sorry those are my max dimensions I had them all twisted.

RAM_Designs
12-21-2008, 12:12 PM
Look at ya Ryan - reediting your post and making me look like Mr. Dumbdick down here.

OP - the woofer needs a larger enclosure than that, quite simply. However, it will work in that enclosure with a higher tuning and with you realizing you're not going to be wowing people under 35hz

What kind of power were ya looking at sending at it?

I made a ninja edit. The box is too small, unless he intends on just competing with the sub...since he has the power to throw at it a smaller box would be optimal so the sub doesn't **** on itself.

mjf
12-21-2008, 12:13 PM
Your right, whats reccomended for this sub? Forget about those dimensions earlier, I can do 13 tall, 36 wide, 20 deep. Sorry those are my max dimensions I had them all twisted.
(11.5 * 34.5 * 18.5) / 1 728 = 4.24761285

not a huge increase and not what i'd put the sub in myself.

i'd be shooting for 4.5 before any displacements at an absolute minimum

RAM_Designs
12-21-2008, 12:14 PM
Your right, whats reccomended for this sub? Forget about those dimensions earlier, I can do 12.5 tall, 36 wide, 20 deep. Sorry those are my max dimensions I had them all twisted.

That's a little under 4.25ft^3 total, which should be ok since you're tuning at 40hz(port won't need to be as long and take up less space). You'd be able to get 3ft^3 for your sub using those dimensions, after all displacement is taken into account...it's a little on the small side for a normal install, but not terrible.

TC2k15x2
12-21-2008, 12:16 PM
(11.5 * 34.5 * 18.5) / 1 728 = 4.24761285

not a huge increase and not what i'd put the sub in myself.

i'd be shooting for 4.5 before any displacements at an absolute minimum

Well how much of a difference will it make? Im not competeing, I dont care if I do a 140 or a 141 on the TL. If thats the difference that it will make its no biggie imo.

TC2k15x2
12-21-2008, 12:18 PM
That's a little under 4.25ft^3 total, which should be ok since you're tuning at 40hz(port won't need to be as long and take up less space). You'd be able to get 3ft^3 for your sub using those dimensions, after all displacement is taken into account...it's a little on the small side for a normal install, but not terrible.

ygpm

Will I be ok tuning to 40 though. I tuned my HDC315 to 40hz and it sounded **** good.

RAM_Designs
12-21-2008, 12:22 PM
ygpm

Will I be ok tuning to 40 though. I tuned my HDC315 to 40hz and it sounded **** good.

After looking at the specs and playing around with it in winISD, 40hz should be ok.

mjf
12-21-2008, 12:22 PM
Well how much of a difference will it make? Im not competeing, I dont care if I do a 140 or a 141 on the TL. If thats the difference that it will make its no biggie imo.

well thats just mostly a matter of my opinion, as ive put my old 15" in just shy of 4 cubes, i didnt like it, lost high output rather quickly.

it just might end up having a large peak at tuning frequency if the box is too small

s Beatz
12-21-2008, 12:23 PM
I planned to tune my RD HW to 36hz@4.2cubes, ask Pioneer~Saturn hes a good guy and will draw up a box design for you he always does mine for me

TC2k15x2
12-21-2008, 12:25 PM
well thats just mostly a matter of my opinion, as ive put my old 15" in just shy of 4 cubes, i didnt like it, lost high output rather quickly.

it just might end up having a large peak at tuning frequency if the box is too small

By losing high output you mean when turned up the output is not linear?

MisterGrubbs
12-21-2008, 12:34 PM
I think he was saying he lost output at higher frequencies, not too sure though.

The sub will work fine in 4.15, which is roughly what you have. You're going to have, as Ryan said, about 1^ft, roughly, worth of displacements after the driver and port and bracing.

Best of luck to you. And my advice being that it's such a small box is to up the power a wee bit ... :-)

Steve has three 15" HWY's in a prettttty small box in his Tahoe and it's stupid loud. I think he ended up with something like 3.5 per sub net or something like that??? Might be wrong, not sure. Then again, he's got the power to throw at the woofers to get 'em moving.

And you do realize that you'll be a *wee* bit louder than a 40-41, right? Assuming all works correctly anywho

Best of luck to you sir. My last piece of advice is to contact Steve directly. Revolution is his username on here. He can probably give you a bit of advice on the setup if he has a moment.

s Beatz
12-21-2008, 12:38 PM
He can always do a sealed box as well with aeros couldnt he? I've seen alot of trunks do that who dont have alot of space

MisterGrubbs
12-21-2008, 12:42 PM
He can always do a sealed box as well with aeros couldnt he? I've seen alot of trunks do that who dont have alot of space

What?

Aeroport is just an alternative to tradition slot ports.

Yes, you are right though, he could use his max dimensions and use external aeroports, if that were feasible. Give him some more space

TC2k15x2
12-21-2008, 12:51 PM
He can always do a sealed box as well with aeros couldnt he? I've seen alot of trunks do that who dont have alot of space

**** I completely forgot to mention I wanted to do aeros. Im a *******.

That wouldnt be considered sealed though ;)

s Beatz
12-21-2008, 12:53 PM
Well ya i mis-worded it my bad haha but you know what i ment:) but ask Pioneer~saturn very good guy and does nice designs..

TC2k15x2
12-21-2008, 12:55 PM
Well ya i mis-worded it my bad haha but you know what i ment:) but ask Pioneer~saturn very good guy and does nice designs..

Ya I sent him a PM but hes offline, I guess im in no rush though :) Id like to have everything installed by the middle of january though.

mjf
12-21-2008, 01:02 PM
i mean lost high frequency output, and at the time that was tuned around 35, i liked it, just ****** on anything 45+.

when i made the box larger to about 4 cubes, tuned to 40, sounded great, played up to about 70 full volume with little drop in how loud it was.