PDA

View Full Version : What kind of precision ports do i want



ArrizX
12-19-2008, 01:01 AM
I have a 15'' mtx 7500 sub I would like at 37hz. in a box ~3cubes.

What size port, and how long does it need to be?

IDSkoT
12-19-2008, 01:03 AM
I have a 15'' mtx 7500 sub I would like at 37hz. in a box ~3cubes.

What size port, and how long does it need to be?

Assuming by precision you mean aeroport... (Round)

I'd say either 1-6" diameter, or 2-4" diameter.

You do the math for the length or go get WinISD Alpha and get it to do it for you.



If you mean a slot... I'd go between 2-3", or even 3.5 if you please.
Again, do the math yourself or get WinISD Alpha to do it for you, if you're lazy.

adas
12-19-2008, 01:06 AM
If you want it to slam and go for more loud then smooth, 1 6" areo 15" long.

I'm guessing by 37hz tuning, that'll suit your listening nicely:)

ArrizX
12-19-2008, 01:07 AM
No its in a slot box at the moment, terribly made one at that.

I have a box from an older sub that was sealed. Its perfect, and since its sealed it would be easiest to drop in some aero ports. And yes, I did mean aero sorry about that.

Ill look into that program, thanks.

Anyone else happen to know off hand, lol?

ArrizX
12-19-2008, 01:08 AM
If you want it to slam and go for more loud then smooth, 1 6" areo 15" long.

I'm guessing by 37hz tuning, that'll suit your listening nicely:)

Perfect.

Yeah, the entire setup is my friends since I just sold my nice amp because i needed the cash.

But anyways, yeah its only getting like 150-175w. Bass boost is all the way up and its not even creating distortion much less a clipped signal. Its an Xplod.................:crying:

But its all I have. So i'm doing what i can, and a new box ported higher will be real nice. Not like its a great sounding sub anyways.