PDA

View Full Version : box designers look here!!! :)



deLeo
12-17-2008, 05:01 PM
im building a new box for my 10" Q... its going to be roughly .7 cubes after all displacements and with wood thickness being accounted for. with a 2" aero port that is 9inches long...


the port is flared how does that affect what the length should be?

is this even going to work? lol

Supergumby5000
12-17-2008, 05:05 PM
im building a new box for my 10" Q... its going to be roughly .7 cubes after all displacements and with wood thickness being accounted for. with a 2" aero port that is 9inches long...


the port is flared how does that affect what the length should be?

is this even going to work? lol

.7 cubes ported?

i'de reccomend going a wee bit bigger.

and by a wee bit, i mean around double.

deLeo
12-17-2008, 05:08 PM
FI recommends .5 to 1.5 and i dont have double :/ the most i can squeeze out is .8/.9 cubes

bhsdriller
12-17-2008, 05:11 PM
http://psp-inc.com/ use their port length calculator to come up with your lengths

deLeo
12-17-2008, 05:12 PM
http://psp-inc.com/ use their port length calculator to come up with your lengths

i just found that reading some posts over at ROE lol... so i need an extra inch for flared ports...

KHARPS
12-17-2008, 05:13 PM
2'' aero is way too little port area....unless you're only running a couple hundred watts. I've never had any experience with the q but I know with my BL it performed much better in 1.5 cubes with a pair of 3'' aeros. Just something for you to think about.

deLeo
12-17-2008, 05:17 PM
12x11x16 = max dimentions :/

using 1000watts @ 1ohm from a diamond d3 1000.1

Rashaddd
12-17-2008, 05:20 PM
Go sealed...that's not enough room to do much of anything with...

deLeo
12-17-2008, 05:28 PM
Go sealed...that's not enough room to do much of anything with...

its already sealed... not loud enough :/

Rashaddd
12-17-2008, 05:29 PM
its already sealed... not loud enough :/

how much power?

deLeo
12-17-2008, 05:31 PM
1000watts from a diamond d3 1000.1

Rashaddd
12-17-2008, 05:36 PM
You're going to need either a very small port or to tune very high....

Pyro_By_Nature
12-17-2008, 05:38 PM
Honestly, a ported box that's way too small with too little port area will not be much better than a sealed box as far as output goes.

deLeo
12-17-2008, 05:38 PM
2"diameter x 8.75 = 30hz according to port calculators :)

could this work?

deLeo
12-17-2008, 05:42 PM
okay well what is the smallest box i could use with 2" aeros and the length of the flared aero can not be more than 8.5inches because the port should be 1" away from any wall correct?

Random1010
12-17-2008, 05:47 PM
Its not the length thats the problem. Sure you can fit it and get it a a decent tune, but it simply does not have enough port area...

gotparts90
12-17-2008, 05:50 PM
can you make the ports external?

deLeo
12-17-2008, 05:53 PM
can you make the ports external?

no :/


Its not the length thats the problem. Sure you can fit it and get it a a decent tune, but it simply does not have enough port area...

okay than whats the smallest box i can get out of it

Rashaddd
12-17-2008, 07:16 PM
You're fighting a losing battle