PDA

View Full Version : Aeroport questions



1ndatrunk
12-16-2008, 01:58 AM
I'm doing an enclosure for an 18" sub in my trunk, the plan is to do sub up/aero ports to the drivers side. The box will be about 9cuft before bracing/sub/ports. How many 4" ports do I need, and how much displacement would those number of aeros take up?

stopdrpnro
12-16-2008, 02:00 AM
i d say 4 or 5 depending on the target tuning freq

Zeuslicious
12-16-2008, 02:00 AM
Give me you csx motor.

1ndatrunk
12-16-2008, 11:39 AM
i d say 4 or 5 depending on the target tuning freq
I'm trying to get at about 34hz. How much would the ports take away from the box size with 4 of them?


Give me you csx motor.

I had it for sale, but nobody wanted it soo I went ahead and bought a recone for it

Rashaddd
12-16-2008, 11:44 AM
I'm trying to get at about 34hz. How much would the ports take away from the box size with 4 of them?

~50 x length/1728

rickymac21
12-17-2008, 09:53 PM
soo this isnt my thread but i have a question... if i want my 2 18" mt's in an every day aeroport box, how many cibic feet should i make the box. and if i use (4) 5" aeroports thats roughly 250 square inches if im not wrong... and to make an aeroport box, how long do the ports be to be tuned around 35 hertz??? one more question, seeing theyre aeroports, do they go on the outside or the inside of the box? ( as u can see i know nothing of aeroport box building)

15nissen
12-17-2008, 09:56 PM
soo this isnt my thread but i have a question... if i want my 2 18" mt's in an every day aeroport box, how many cibic feet should i make the box. and if i use (4) 5" aeroports thats roughly 250 square inches if im not wrong... and to make an aeroport box, how long do the ports be to be tuned around 35 hertz??? one more question, seeing theyre aeroports, do they go on the outside or the inside of the box? ( as u can see i know nothing of aeroport box building)

Your your last thread you said you had 1 MT. I don't think you can fit 2x 18's properly in your car. 1 18 built correctly though should be loud enough to scare adults and do some hair tricks.

rickymac21
12-17-2008, 10:01 PM
Your your last thread you said you had 1 MT. I don't think you can fit 2x 18's properly in your car. 1 18 built correctly though should be loud enough to scare adults and do some hair tricks.

hahaha. **** your every where man... like hodinni or however you spell that.. LOL.. but no, if i said one then i need to fix it, i have 2 of them....

jusBloud
12-18-2008, 07:26 AM
Give me you csx motor.

give ME your csx motor

18inchjeepin
12-18-2008, 05:10 PM
6 inch aeros FTW

I have about 9.5 cubes and am using (4) 6 inchers, maybe excessive...na

roarzorz
12-18-2008, 09:22 PM
Wow, I'm surprised you can fit 9ft in your trunk. That's a big box. Check out http://www.psp-inc.com/ This website has a good port length calculator. For a single 18" I recommend two 6" ports or four 4" ports. 9ft net volume w/ four 4" ports they'll need to be 11" long for a 34hz tune. To calculate port displacement use the formula pi*(radius squared)*length. This would be 3.14*4*11*4 ports=0.32ft of port displacement.