PDA

View Full Version : need design help



Crzy
12-16-2008, 12:02 AM
im in need of some help designing the box for a HDC315. i came up with the rough box that will fit in my trunk and figured it to be 6.4 cft, which for some reason i dont think is right but the math said so ha. my question is, what is the displacement of the hdc315 and how long would 4 4" aero ports have to be to have the box tuned to 37-38 hz?

the ports will not be angled like the face of the box, there will be a recesed area to allow themt o be mounted linear to the bottom and top of the box

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v489/crzysvgusr/eqwe.jpg

Crzy
12-16-2008, 12:31 PM
bump

RAM_Designs
12-16-2008, 12:52 PM
That box will be a little big. Aeroports don't take up much space, and neither does the sub. After sub/port displacement, you're looking at around 5.5ft^3 total, which is just too big for a HDC15. I'd suggest going with a smaller box, around 3.5-4ft^3 after all displacement.

Crzy
12-16-2008, 01:27 PM
thanks for the info ryan, do you happen to know the displacement of a hdc? audioque does not list it on the hdc web page

still curious if the box is deep enough though to allow the use of aero ports witthout any bend in them, just straight to the back fo the box. will they have enough roomt o clear the back wall of the box with proper spacing?

mlstrass
12-16-2008, 03:21 PM
I use .3 for disp of the HDC. 4.5cubes would work nicely depending upon how much power you have.

Crzy
12-16-2008, 05:03 PM
at first im onyl gonna be using around 1500rms, plan on upgrading to an amp in 2200+ range though

if anyone is willing to help me out on aim or pm once i get final box dimension on port length that would be greatly appreciated