PDA

View Full Version : Tuning guess



dr00mx
12-13-2008, 02:34 AM
Alright just want to find out if this box is worth getting until one is built.

Dimensions

Box
Width - 28in
Height -13 1/4in
Depth- 13 1/8in

Port
Width - 3in
Height - 13 1/4in
Depth- 16 3/8in

Sub displacement - 0.09cu.ft.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v161/Dr00mX/12-12-08_2137-1.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v161/Dr00mX/12-12-08_2138-1.jpg

Can any one tell me what its tuned to? I'm sure it's going to be up there.
Any good since it has a port on the side?

Thank you.

Dan K.

46panel
12-13-2008, 02:43 AM
I just plugged in a few numbers and it seems like your box is a little around 2.3 after port displacement...and with those port dimensions, I get right around 45ish hz. I could be wrong tho I'm kind of new at figuring boxes out. But if it is tuned to 45hz then I wouldnt want it for daily use.

dr00mx
12-13-2008, 02:51 AM
A little update on the dimension.
But **** i figured it'd be up there.
**** that's not good ;]

Rashaddd
12-13-2008, 02:55 AM
You can play test tones or a sweep to give you an idea of where it is by watching how cone excursion varies with frequency. there'll be a dip in cone excursion somewhere (at the tuning frequency)

46panel
12-13-2008, 03:12 AM
Yea I forgot to figure in the wood thickness also so your box is probably smaller, which makes the tuning higher. Ha, best bet would be to play tones like he said ^

KyleBechtold
12-13-2008, 03:14 AM
also depends on sub displacement.. didn't see that added in there...

dr00mx
12-13-2008, 03:16 AM
That's inside measurements no need for wood thinness.
I'm thinking 45-50Hz.
I'm sure that be pretty loud but sq ****.
The recommended is 2.1 45Hz ported going for spl.
What do you guys think?

dr00mx
12-13-2008, 03:18 AM
Added - sorry
Sub displacement - 0.09cu.ft.

46panel
12-13-2008, 03:19 AM
That's inside measurements no need for wood thinness.
I'm thinking 45-50Hz.
I'm sure that be pretty loud but sq ****.
The recommended is 2.1 45Hz ported going for spl.
What do you guys think?

SQ is going to suffer, but all you can do it try it, and maybe you will like it?Alot of prefabs are around 40 so yea :confused: Good luck

dr00mx
12-13-2008, 03:35 AM
**** oh well
do you know anyone that could possibly build me a box?

46panel
12-13-2008, 03:43 AM
Um, I know a guy named Trevor does, not sure what hes name is on here tho something like thumpper...hes from canada and made my first one, but if I were you I wouldnt want to have to pay for shipping all the way from there. I'd just make a thread asking if someone will make you a box tho. I'm making my first box at the moment and I really have no clue what I'm doing but its going well so far :)

dr00mx
12-13-2008, 03:57 AM
I'll probably just use this box and I'll try to build one myself.
Have all the tools so it shouldn't be a problem.
good idea bro :)

46panel
12-13-2008, 04:08 AM
I'll probably just use this box and I'll try to build one myself.
Have all the tools so it shouldn't be a problem.
good idea bro :)

Yea that sounds like a plan...it really isnt that hard at all. The main problem for me was just trying to figure out the tuning for the port, but this site helps with that. http://www.the12volt.com/caraudio/boxcalcs.asp Hope I helped a little atleast ha.

dr00mx
12-13-2008, 04:14 AM
Thanks for the help, steered me away from paying some else
now i just need some plans.
i'll let you know how it goes =]

Cabin_Pressure
12-13-2008, 11:05 AM
http://www.carstereo.com/help/Articles.cfm?id=31