PDA

View Full Version : FAN in AMP rack



EVOECLIPSE
07-27-2003, 03:59 PM
i plan to place my amp under the sub box in a chamber... i am running the amp at 4 ohms... there will be plenty of places for air to get in... but i was wondering if i should put a small fan in there as well... i am running at 4 ohms so the amp will not be working as hard if i were runnin at 2 ohms... does ya'll think a fan would be necessary?????

Trixter
07-28-2003, 10:01 AM
It can't hurt anything. The cooler the better.

MXJMR
07-29-2003, 11:01 PM
I 2nd that :cool:

MikeofTulsa
07-29-2003, 11:07 PM
indeed....can usually find a cheap 12v fan at radio shack....they work quite well

MXJMR
07-29-2003, 11:11 PM
Ebay all the way baby! You can find some with leds for like 2/$.99 :eek:

EVOECLIPSE
07-30-2003, 08:47 AM
how does a fan connect???? i have never installed a fan before any suggestions????

Trixter
07-30-2003, 09:31 AM
If your just using a small, single fan you can get away with hooking it up to your remote line. I have had three hooked up to my ignition wire with out any problems. Some people may suggest using a relay but I don't and have not had any problems. Simply power up the positive and find a ground for the negative.