PDA

View Full Version : Can u make a port...



Biohazard
07-27-2003, 02:35 AM
Just wondering if you can have 1 side of the port the wall of the box? do u know what i mean? like instead of makin a real port could u simply just put 1 side as the end of your box then put the other side on?

does that make sense?

Randy Savage
07-27-2003, 02:39 AM
Yep...I've used many a wall in my port making :)

MXJMR
07-27-2003, 02:49 AM
Yeah, you can. I have saw plenty of boxes that use of one side of the box, part of the port wall.

BDIDDY
07-27-2003, 02:51 AM
thats the only way to do it

Randy Savage
07-27-2003, 02:52 AM
thats the only way to do it

No it's not...

MXJMR
07-27-2003, 02:57 AM
I also agree that it is not the only way to do it, i prefer it and it is a right way but its not the only way. (unless you ment "its the only way" in another way)

BDIDDY
07-27-2003, 03:02 AM
I also agree that it is not the only way to do it, i prefer it and it is a right way but its not the only way. (unless you ment "its the only way" in another way)

Yes in another way. There are tons of ways but to me its the easiest, which makes it the way to do it.

MXJMR
07-27-2003, 03:05 AM
I thought thats how u ment it, my bad.

BDIDDY
07-27-2003, 03:09 AM
I thought thats how u ment it, my bad.


Well I am sort of a slacker so the easiest is the best.

Biohazard
07-27-2003, 03:21 AM
ok that makes thing sooo much easier...also, is there a rule of thumb or like a screw each 5 inches or something?

MXJMR
07-27-2003, 03:25 AM
For constructing the box in general? I usually put some liquid nails on, then put screws pretty much where u think they r needed and where it will hold good and tight, so no air seeps through. Then liquid nails on the inside where the boards come together. I hope thats what u were talkin bout

Biohazard
07-27-2003, 03:36 AM
liquid nails=wood glue??
i dunno how often to put screws in? my box is 33 in long and i would put either 5 or 3 screws in...what do u think??

Randy Savage
07-27-2003, 03:41 AM
Liquid nails is basically wood glue...can be found at Home Depot/Lowes/etc...

I generally put in a screw every 6" or so...

I concentrate more on the liquid nails part though...

MXJMR
07-27-2003, 03:43 AM
liquid nails=wood glue??
i dunno how often to put screws in? my box is 33 in long and i would put either 5 or 3 screws in...what do u think??

"Liquid nails=.....", not exactly but its sort of the same liquid nails is ALOT thicker than wood glue. Liquid nails comes in a big tube and its only a couple bucks u can get it almost at any hardware or wal-mart. As the screws go, put screws in the corners then in the center of those. Then inbetween the center and the left screw and right screw, repeat this until u get it nice and snug to ur likings. I hope u understand what i mean :confused: if not just tell me i can make it more detailed, got it?

Biohazard
07-27-2003, 07:01 AM
"Liquid nails=.....", not exactly but its sort of the same liquid nails is ALOT thicker than wood glue. Liquid nails comes in a big tube and its only a couple bucks u can get it almost at any hardware or wal-mart. As the screws go, put screws in the corners then in the center of those. Then inbetween the center and the left screw and right screw, repeat this until u get it nice and snug to ur likings. I hope u understand what i mean :confused: if not just tell me i can make it more detailed, got it?

that is exactly what i was going to do...but liquid nails at home depot? i live in canada and i can't really find it....i will keep lookin though :)
thanks guys!

Biohazard
07-27-2003, 07:14 AM
ok another question, i want to tune my 3.64 cu ft box for a 15" xxx to 35hz, but i can't use the side of the box as 1 side becasue i can't make the height eqal to the height of the box with winsid...should i just use a 5in tall port??

MXJMR
07-27-2003, 12:31 PM
Do they have wal-marts in canada, or Lowes, Ace, Home Depot? You can get it at any of those places.

MXJMR
07-27-2003, 12:33 PM
What is the height of your box, i can figure u a port.

MXJMR
07-27-2003, 12:35 PM
And the width of the port itself.

Biohazard
07-27-2003, 03:05 PM
the front face is 16" minus the 2x.75=1.5 for width of wood....

i was just thinking i could cut out a square out of the bottom of the fron instead of the whole side, so i would need to make a top and 1 side......good idea??

Biohazard
07-27-2003, 03:06 PM
Do they have wal-marts in canada, or Lowes, Ace, Home Depot? You can get it at any of those places.

yes walmarts and home depots but i couldn't find it...hmmmm

MXJMR
07-27-2003, 03:14 PM
Thats weird (about the liq. nails), i dont really understand ur other idea :confused: i think i have a.d.d. :D

MXJMR
07-27-2003, 03:20 PM
If the height of the port is 16"s and 1.5"s wide, the port length should be 10.46 or roughly 10.5"s.(thats for 3.64 cubes and 35hz) Sound right?

Biohazard
07-28-2003, 06:18 AM
If the height of the port is 16"s and 1.5"s wide, the port length should be 10.46 or roughly 10.5"s.(thats for 3.64 cubes and 35hz) Sound right?

i don't know if thats right....in winisd u can only make the port set sizes....i think... is 1.5" too skinnny? would that create port noise??

my other idea is to go like this(this is the front of the box, sub is also in the big .... area

__________
l...................l
l...................l
l...................l
l...............__l
l_______l__l with this little corner the port.....so it is more square