PDA

View Full Version : best sq out of an hd3



corto
12-06-2008, 09:42 PM
i recently purched a 15 hd3. The sub gets extremly loud off 500 watts (sundown 1500 is in the mail. The lows sound very horrible. my box is 4 net with 3 4 inch aeros tuneable to 32 and 40 32 sounds waay better but when it hits the low its muffled or muddy sounding. Should i build a bigger box? smaller box? whos gonna design me a a box for a 15 hd3 with good sound quality not great just half way **** sounding

Louisiana_CRX
12-06-2008, 09:46 PM
china subs just don't quite cut it...when it comes to sq

Skip01
12-06-2008, 09:52 PM
Smaller

mlstrass
12-07-2008, 01:39 AM
4-4.5 @ 35hz is what I use for the HD's and HDC's and SQ have never been a problem. My current set up is tuned to 40Hz and still sounds very good and blends well with my front stage.

Do you have bass boost cranked up or anything like that? What type of music?

corto
12-07-2008, 06:30 AM
all rap and bass boost is not cranked maybe its the lack of quality cd player and quality amp both are onthere way tuesday and if that dont work im back to the drawing board

and i thought hd3s are made in usa? what it says on the sub

mlstrass
12-07-2008, 11:21 AM
FYI......rap has NO SQ to speak of. 99% of new rap sounds muddy/boomy/crappy. Try some other music and see how it sounds. Could be a HU/amp issue if your settings aren't correct.

HD's are USA built, the new HDC's are made in China.

kovemaster559
12-07-2008, 11:22 AM
FYI......rap has NO SQ to speak of. 99% of new rap sounds muddy/boomy/crappy. Try some other music and see how it sounds. Could be a HU/amp issue if your settings aren't correct.

HD's are USA built, the new HDC's are made in China.

x2

mazdakid
12-07-2008, 11:38 AM
maybe try around 37 or 38. i have my 12 in about 2.4 at 37 and it plays the lows very nicely.