PDA

View Full Version : ******Enclosure idea*******



mugen08
12-06-2008, 03:56 PM
Ok, I have an idea for an enclosure and I want to know if it is possible and if anyone would be willing to desigh one for me..

It will be a slot ported box with the port flared, will be for an 18" sub, and around 6 cubes.

Now here's the twist.

Inside the box, I want to build another "box" against the back. The idea of this is that I can remove the "lid" of the box, and in effect, create a larger enclosure and therefore lower the tuning.

That way, I can run it with the "lid" off for DD to keep my tuning low, and when I go to comps, I can add the lid causing the tuning to increase.

I'd say 32 for daily, 44ish for SPL.
Sub would be an AQHDC3

I just came up w/ this idea, and it seems to make sense in my head, I just need some feedback as to wether it can be done, and if so would someone be willing to do it for me.

Thanks all

mugen08
12-06-2008, 04:02 PM
bump

ughhibye
12-06-2008, 04:02 PM
just make a interchangeable port

mugen08
12-06-2008, 04:05 PM
Interchangeable flared slot port?

Rashaddd
12-06-2008, 04:18 PM
Just use something to fill the air space instead

when you want to tune higher by reducing air space, throw a bunch of wood in there (in a somewhat secure, organized, and obviously measured way)

hatemonger
12-06-2008, 04:42 PM
Just use something to fill the air space instead

when you want to tune higher by reducing air space, throw a bunch of wood in there (in a somewhat secure, organized, and obviously measured way)

agreed.

thorshammer1
12-06-2008, 06:15 PM
Just use something to fill the air space instead

when you want to tune higher by reducing air space, throw a bunch of wood in there (in a somewhat secure, organized, and obviously measured way)


x3 but instead of wood you can use foam(seat cushion type) Ya want to cut it slightly bigger and let it expand to the port walls. Works great!;)

80INCHES
12-06-2008, 06:16 PM
x3 but instead of wood you can use foam(seat cushion type) Ya want to cut it slightly bigger and let it expand to the port walls. Works great!;)

is there a link to buy this stuff

80

johnmatt
12-06-2008, 06:57 PM
no dont use foam... just use a block of mdf... as UNsquare as possible so that it wont interfere with acoustics

mugen08
12-06-2008, 07:16 PM
Just use something to fill the air space instead

when you want to tune higher by reducing air space, throw a bunch of wood in there (in a somewhat secure, organized, and obviously measured way)

I see you design boxes.

Can you do flared slots?

Rashaddd
12-06-2008, 07:22 PM
I see you design boxes.

Can you do flared slots?

Yes, pm me