PDA

View Full Version : Box Tuning ?



Slaymon
07-24-2003, 07:39 PM
If someone with some knowledge (unlike me) could help tell me what length ports and how many would be great..

Box size is 2.21 after sub displacement... I'd like it tuned to around 32 or so hz. I've got 2" pvc pipe but they're only 11" long. Is there a way to tune this with that? I'd like two ports so they can shoot through the 6x9 holes.

slipknot87420
07-24-2003, 07:46 PM
each should be 6.05" long, btw heres a good port calc http://www.loudspeakers101.com/VentCal1.htm

Slaymon
07-24-2003, 07:48 PM
Will two small ports like that cause much port noise?

Slaymon
07-24-2003, 08:11 PM
Yea.. there is a single 12" with about 400 watts.. Soon it'll be 2 12"s with about 800.. I'm limited with space since I'm always moving larger stuff so I need more space. I could make square ports as well. What would be the best idea?

Just checked that website again.. Would the best bet be to go with 2 square ports at about 3x3x18? Thats about around the tuning I want. Would the port noise be high still?

Miller
07-25-2003, 12:53 PM
If you had 2 3x3x18" ports I think you should be ok. I have one 14.5"x1.75" port with 2 12's running on 1500watts and I have NO port noise. but dont take my word on that, just make sure you sand.

MXJMR
07-26-2003, 02:10 AM
Slipknot, nice link for the port calculator. I have been looking for a calculator for rectangle ports for awhile, I usually got to the12volt.com (http://www.the12volt.com) but they just have round ports. Mad props

Miller
07-27-2003, 01:51 PM
I think that loudspeaker link isn't very accurate. I just say so because it says the minimum diameter for my 2 12" SE's is an 8" circular port. That is HUGE. It also says the minimum cubic inches my port should be is like 52 inches squared and my port now is only like 27 inches squared and I have NO port noise. So I am a little confused.