PDA

View Full Version : help me pick an alarm



king ranch
11-28-2008, 11:28 PM
i have a 2001 f150 and looking to get a alarm/remote starter. i have read about viper, autopage and clifford.

whats the difference in the viper 791xv and the viper 5900.

also i like the warn away low volume signal warning for possible threats on the cliford, does the vipers come with that or do they just go off when someone breaks in.

the autopage i looked up isnt bad for the money either i dont think comes with dual shock sensor, glass break sensor and temp sensor the other alarms dont come with those sensors correct.

i really would like to have two way remote but if i can get a alarm with more features without 2 way paging for a good price i will go that route. out of these alarms which is the best bang for the buck

http://cgi.ebay.com/Autopage-RS-900-LCD-2WAY-LCD-REMOTE-START-ALARM_W0QQitemZ360110982884QQcmdZViewItemQQptZCar_ Alarms_Security?hash=item360110982884&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=66%3A2%7C65%3A16%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A1318

http://cgi.ebay.com/VIPER-5900-2-WAY-CAR-ALARM-REMOTE-START-SYSTEM-PAGING_W0QQitemZ120336771570QQcmdZViewItemQQptZCar _Alarms_Security?hash=item120336771570&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=66%3A2%7C65%3A16%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A1318

http://cgi.ebay.com/VIPER-791XV-2-WAY-CAR-ALARM-REMOTE-START-PAGER-DEI-BLUE_W0QQitemZ120328503170QQcmdZViewItemQQptZCar_A larms_Security?hash=item120328503170&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=66%3A2%7C65%3A16%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A1318

http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-CLIFFORD-MATRIX-2-2-CAR-ALARM-REMOTE-START-SYSTEM_W0QQitemZ200276838896QQcmdZViewItemQQptZCar _Alarms_Security?hash=item200276838896&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=66%3A2%7C65%3A16%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A1318

king ranch
11-28-2008, 11:32 PM
what are some good sensors to get for the viper if i go with that or the clifford, the best thing about the cliford is the warning alarm, and the autopage seems too good to be true for the money it comes with glass break sensors.

so if i go with the viper 5900 what extras should i get for it

Louisiana_CRX
11-28-2008, 11:35 PM
Scyteks are very good for the money :)

king ranch
11-28-2008, 11:40 PM
yea i also looked at those, i mean whats the difference in the viper 791 and the 5900, and the clifford matrix i like the silent mode for the alarm it has and the warning sensor it has to warn a possible theft and prevent a break in maybe instead of them getting no warning and breaking in and then they run.

the autopage i like but seems too good to be true comes with 2 way paging and all those sensors including glass break.

anyone have experience with autopage

king ranch
11-28-2008, 11:46 PM
uppp no one even looks at the thread

king ranch
11-29-2008, 12:46 AM
anyone

king ranch
11-29-2008, 01:40 AM
bump

king ranch
11-29-2008, 03:41 AM
also the more number of aux channels means more sensors you can add to the alarm correct

king ranch
11-29-2008, 04:11 AM
so which one should i go with the viper 5002 or the viper 5900

king ranch
11-29-2008, 03:45 PM
upp

THUNDERBIRD
11-29-2008, 05:58 PM
use the SEARCH button or scroll threw the posts. get a dei! so the 5900.

king ranch
11-29-2008, 08:19 PM
why dei and isnt the 5002 the dei and the same alarm basically just doesnt have the Miniature XCRS (Extreme Capacity Relay Satellite, what is that anyway

the 5002 is the same alarm but doesnt have that so is it worth a 15 dollar difference and also the 5002 you get two remote instead of the one remote with the 5900.

also will those alarms beep if its barely touched and almost set the alarm off to warn the person or does it only go off once its tripped. also the aux inputs is the number of extra sensors you can add to it correct.

so if it has 4 and u get the glass break sensors and say get 4 of them can all those be wired into one input or seperate inputs

lil_italy773
11-30-2008, 02:46 PM
this is the remote start/alarm i have and has been great so far. i know ppl are thinkin why would u want a remote start living in SO. FL

fleabay
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=140285507665&category=94832&_trksid=p3907.m263&_trkparms=algo%3DSI%26its%3DI%26itu%3DUCI%26otn%3D 15%26po%3DLVI%26ps%3D54

link to website
http://www.audiovox.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?catalogId=10001&storeId=10001&productId=14996&langId=-1

Horsemanwill
11-30-2008, 03:26 PM
http://www.autopageusa.com/t_inside.cfm?action=products&catID=1005&prodID=129f6b7a-2347-4e1a-a926-a63a5174c694

if i remember right that's the sensor that comes with the alarm. autopage is a very good alarm i've used it for years. and actually aux outputs are channels that you can program to do other things ie windows, trunk, lights, things like that. i run the autopage 855lcd and never had a problem with it. if u have more specific questions about autopage alarms send me a pm and i could help.

king ranch
11-30-2008, 03:33 PM
ok so then how do i know if i can add sensors to an alarm like glass break and more horns and another shock sensor and maybe a tilt sensor

will the 5900 allow it

xxBURT0Nxx
11-30-2008, 03:33 PM
clifford/python/viper are all the same alarms.... just go to one of their sites and pick the one with the features that you like. The base alarm is good, then from there you add on features like 2 way paging, ability to add more sensors, remote start, longer range, etc. And yes you can set all of the paramaters reguarding how close a prox sensor or tilt sensor will go off. and there are 2 stage things, and if you really want you can get prox sensors and widow regulators so that when someone sticks their arm in your window if it's rolled down the windows auto roll up and the alarm sounds.... and you can add backup batts, more sirens, etc.

king ranch
11-30-2008, 03:35 PM
well for backup battery i will use the battery in my back i use for my stereo that would work right

and with the viper 5900 is the one i plan to go with what all can i add to that alarm for sensors

Horsemanwill
11-30-2008, 03:41 PM
many of the alarm companies will allow you to "daisy" chain the alarms

xxBURT0Nxx
11-30-2008, 03:43 PM
anything you want... go to viper.com and click accessories and you can add anything on that page.... tilt sensors, sirens, window controllers, trunk release, etc. And you might as well get the newer viper 5901, reviews say its much better than the 5900. One thing to be warned about though... with the 5900 there is a 2 second delay between when you push any buttons and when your doors lock/unlock, etc... not sure if its the same on the 5901 or not

king ranch
11-30-2008, 03:47 PM
ok the 2 second delay isnt a big deal however i was wondering does the 5900 have any warning signals for possible threats instead of just setting the alarm off i seen the 5601 has the low volume warning signal for possible threats, the 5601 is just the one way version of the 5901 but does the 5901 have the same warning. i can get that one for 300 idk if its worth another 75 bucks or not

does the 5900 have the same warning signal for possible threats or no

xxBURT0Nxx
11-30-2008, 04:03 PM
you can set up the sensors with 2 stages... one warning beep so people know that there is an alarm, and another stage where the alarm goes off if the person doesn't leave it alone. And the 5901 is $300, but you are also going to have to pay someone to install it, which won't be cheap. Remember, the alarm is only as good as the installer, if they do a half as job, it will be easy to bypass the alarm.

king ranch
11-30-2008, 04:12 PM
what do you mean bypass the alarm i was going to pay circuity city to install the alarm they only charge 160

xxBURT0Nxx
11-30-2008, 04:21 PM
I mean that just because you have an alarm doesn't mean your car can't get stolen/broken into. all an alarm is going to do is deter thiefs and slow them down. If they want into your car, they are going to get in, its ust a matter of how hard the alarm can make it. By having multiple sirens hidden in the car, under the dash, the hood, trunk, etc, backup batteries, and making sure that the brain isnt accessible very easily. Ensuring it's deep up in the dash, maybe hidden in a lock box, etc. I probably would rather find someone at a trustable shop or on these forums who knows what they are doing and will install it for you and ask you questions/ go through it with you. Circuit City is just going to throw it in there as fast as possible, not taking time to ensure everything is to your benefit. Think about it this way, what is the point in spending $500 on an alarm and an install if it isn't going to stop any crooks? I'd rather pay $1000 and know for a fact that a thief would really have to want my car in order to do anything to it. I have over 15 sirens and backup batteries in my car, the brain would take at crook at least 60 mins to get to, and that's if they have tools and know exactly where the brain is and how to take apart the car in order to get to it. I also have pain generators inside of my car, so not only would they have to spend an hour to disable the alarm, they would also have to sit in a car with disorienting noise at high db's.... I don't know about you but I would say if you are going to half *** an alarm, you may as well not even get one!

king ranch
11-30-2008, 04:28 PM
well i was gonna get the viper 5900, use my battery in the back for my back up battery, have 2 shock sensors one in the front and one somewhere in the back cab like behind the back seats, then 2 glass break sensors not sure where those would go, and then have the stanard siren under the hood then two more under the back seats

and i am located in southwest florida and dont know anyone in my area to install alarms besides local shops have called around the one in my town wants like 400 or so to do it and he did my first stereo install and i wasnt impressed he does stuff halfass

Horsemanwill
11-30-2008, 04:31 PM
with it being a truck why not one shock sensor up front in the cab and a mass sensor for the rest of the truck that way if anyone reaches in the bed the alarm will activate.

king ranch
11-30-2008, 04:34 PM
i have a toneau cover on my bed that locks so no need for anything to make sure anyone gets in the bed haha

xxBURT0Nxx
11-30-2008, 04:46 PM
well i was gonna get the viper 5900, use my battery in the back for my back up battery, have 2 shock sensors one in the front and one somewhere in the back cab like behind the back seats, then 2 glass break sensors not sure where those would go, and then have the stanard siren under the hood then two more under the back seats

and i am located in southwest florida and dont know anyone in my area to install alarms besides local shops have called around the one in my town wants like 400 or so to do it and he did my first stereo install and i wasnt impressed he does stuff halfass

Well 2 shock sensors is useless because you can set one to be so sensative that very light wind will set it off... glass break sensors just listen for sound of glass breaking, so no need for more than one of those. If I were you I would just invest that money in a proper install and more sirens, you can never really have enough sirens hahaha, but I'm sure you can find someone on these boards from florida or a shop that will do quality work... you live in one of the biggest states in the country give me a break.

king ranch
11-30-2008, 04:57 PM
ok so the viper 5900 is adjustable for the shock sensor on setting the alarm off i wasnt sure if they are adjustable or not since i have never had an alarm before, where should i get the shock sensor and the glass break sensor put at. and yea i figure i will put at least 2 sirens inside the truck and one under the hood

and i have looked around my area and either they do bad work for cheap or ok work for a bit of money or good work for a **** load of money

xxBURT0Nxx
11-30-2008, 05:01 PM
ok so the viper 5900 is adjustable for the shock sensor on setting the alarm off i wasnt sure if they are adjustable or not since i have never had an alarm before, where should i get the shock sensor and the glass break sensor put at. and yea i figure i will put at least 2 sirens inside the truck and one under the hood

and i have looked around my area and either they do bad work for cheap or ok work for a bit of money or good work for a **** load of money

well the installer will probably just put them under the dash or something, you can also get a prox sensor if you want. I would talk to circuit city though, because when I used to work at Best BUy the install was $160 but you will likely have to buy relays, resistors, fuses, more wiring, they will charge for each add on to the alarm, then you will have to buy an immobilizer and likely other things assuming your truck is newer

king ranch
11-30-2008, 05:08 PM
my truck is a 2001 with no alarm just the keypad on the door and keyless entry, so if i get the glass break sensor they will charge extra to install that i will buy the alarm and acc offline and take it to them to install, so all in all how much total for installation do you think it will cost.

and should i get glass break sensors or are they a waste of money

xxBURT0Nxx
11-30-2008, 05:12 PM
my truck is a 2001 with no alarm just the keypad on the door and keyless entry, so if i get the glass break sensor they will charge extra to install that i will buy the alarm and acc offline and take it to them to install, so all in all how much total for installation do you think it will cost.

and should i get glass break sensors or are they a waste of money

IDK it might be a waste of money, depends on how much it would cost. If you have a shock sensor, it would most likely go off if someone ever hit your window and broke it. As far as install, I don't know, you want remote start right? That means you will need an immobilizer which is going to cost around $50 + install, plus you will have to give them a spare key, so if you don't have one that's going to be like $80 to get from the dealer... idk though, talk to circuit city and ask them. When I worked at best buy we would have alarm installs after all accessories and labor that would cost close to $900 or more, but you do have to think that is also like n 8 hour install depending on complexity of cars and what you want installed.

king ranch
11-30-2008, 05:15 PM
900 with the price of the alarm what a ripoff

xxBURT0Nxx
11-30-2008, 05:21 PM
900 with the price of the alarm what a ripoff

I guess so, but then again, I don't think you know what goes into hooking up an alarm system. Wait until you see how many wiring harness have to be hooked up, the immobilizers have to be programmed, etc. An alarm isn't just like a little head unit that can be installed in an hour. And that's not that bad considering labor rate at best buy for installs is $35 /half hour so for an 8 hour install you are looking at $560 in labor, plus a $300 alarm, immobilizers, relays, wiries, accessories, yeah it gets pricey.

king ranch
11-30-2008, 05:59 PM
didnt know it takes that long circuit city advertises 160 for alarm/remote starter install

xxBURT0Nxx
11-30-2008, 07:40 PM
didnt know it takes that long circuit city advertises 160 for alarm/remote starter install

yeah but I'm telling you it's going to be more than that because you are going to have to buy an immobilizer for your car and pay to install those accessories as well

Macklessdaddy
11-30-2008, 07:46 PM
didnt know it takes that long circuit city advertises 160 for alarm/remote starter install

I got my python 881 same as viper 791 installed at cc for 160,there was no other fees,been 2 years now without a hiccup

Macklessdaddy
11-30-2008, 07:48 PM
yeah but I'm telling you it's going to be more than that because you are going to have to buy an immobilizer for your car and pay to install those accessories as well

accessories will increase the price but 160 is for installation of a alarm/remote start

king ranch
11-30-2008, 08:49 PM
yea will i need a immobilizer since my truck doesnt have an alarm at all

99grandprixGT
11-30-2008, 08:52 PM
some local shop had a black friday special 99 dollars for a viper alarm installed. it was insane. i got there to late.

xxBURT0Nxx
11-30-2008, 10:29 PM
yea will i need a immobilizer since my truck doesnt have an alarm at all

well i am about 90% positive... if you were to go to ford and ask for a replacement key would it cost you $5 or would it cost you closer to $100? It is going to be $100 because you need to buy a key that has a chip inside of it, then you need an immobilizer.

king ranch
11-30-2008, 10:30 PM
ok i found a immobilizer on ebay for dei viper only like 35 bucks or so, whats that do anyway

xxBURT0Nxx
11-30-2008, 10:31 PM
they are car specific, so until you know which one you need, I wouldn't buy one...

king ranch
11-30-2008, 10:32 PM
well its for a ford 96 and up and i have a 2001 f150 and it says works with the viper 5900 whats the immobolizer do anyway

king ranch
11-30-2008, 10:35 PM
http://cgi.ebay.com/Directed-DEI-555FW-Ford-Immobilizer-Bypass_W0QQitemZ190266374248QQcmdZViewItemQQptZCar _Alarms_Security?hash=item190266374248&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1205%7C66%3A2%7C65%3A12%7C39%3A1%7C 240%3A1318

that will work right

xxBURT0Nxx
12-01-2008, 12:35 AM
An immobilizer makes your car think that there is a key in the ignition so that it will remote start. Your key has a chip in it that allows your car to start, basically it wont remote start unless a key is in the ign, so you need an immobilizer

and idk i think that will work, but I'm not going to tell you it will and then it doesnt... call circuit city and talk to them, they wi,ll be the only ones who can tell you price as well as what you need

king ranch
12-01-2008, 12:38 AM
ok so if i get the immobolizer i wont need a spare key correct or will i still need a spare key no matter what, and also i leave my keys in the ignition as it is now so i think i will just leave my keys in the ignition when i have the alarm so i wouldnt need a immobolizer would i, and if someone breaks in and sets the alarm off they cant crank it even if the keys are in the ignition right it should kill the starter

xxBURT0Nxx
12-01-2008, 12:43 AM
well idk why you would leave your keys in your ignition...?? but it depends there are generic immobilizers that require a spare key to work like the 556u, and there are others that can be programmed to your car but usually cost more

99grandprixGT
12-01-2008, 12:47 AM
ok so if i get the immobolizer i wont need a spare key correct or will i still need a spare key no matter what, and also i leave my keys in the ignition as it is now so i think i will just leave my keys in the ignition when i have the alarm so i wouldnt need a immobolizer would i, and if someone breaks in and sets the alarm off they cant crank it even if the keys are in the ignition right it should kill the starter

your going to leave ur keys in the ignition so u can save some money? lol.

xxBURT0Nxx
12-01-2008, 12:50 AM
yeah kind of defeats the purpose of an alarm

king ranch
12-01-2008, 01:36 AM
your going to leave ur keys in the ignition so u can save some money? lol.

i leave my keys in the ignition because right now i have the keypad on the outside so i just use that, and if i cant find my extra key that i was told i have to have to use in the remote start then i will just leave my keys in the ignition if someone breaks in wont the alarm go off and the truck not start since it has the starter kill

king ranch
12-01-2008, 03:51 PM
is this everything i need for the alarm/remote starter, viper 5900 package, imbollizer for my truck, proxomity sensors would do more than glass break sensor right, so i figure go with the proxomity sensor, two extra piezo horns to put inside the cab of the truck,and possibly another shock sensor unless not needed

any input

Horsemanwill
12-01-2008, 05:23 PM
with the prox sensor a shock sensor isn't really needed

TurdFergueson2
12-01-2008, 05:29 PM
is this everything i need for the alarm/remote starter, viper 5900 package, imbollizer for my truck, proxomity sensors would do more than glass break sensor right, so i figure go with the proxomity sensor, two extra piezo horns to put inside the cab of the truck,and possibly another shock sensor unless not needed

any input


This is pretty much what I told you like almost 2 weeks ago. I believe I said get a 5900 and some extra horns. You asked about what if they try and take your rims. I told you get a proximity sensor. It would go off if they are near your car too long. Then you make a thread and say you are more than likely are gonna go with the 5900 and ask what extras should you get.

You could have had the **** installed by now. I don't get you man...... Really I don't.

king ranch
12-01-2008, 05:59 PM
with the prox sensor a shock sensor isn't really needed

well the shock sensor comes with the alarm anyway


This is pretty much what I told you like almost 2 weeks ago. I believe I said get a 5900 and some extra horns. You asked about what if they try and take your rims. I told you get a proximity sensor. It would go off if they are near your car too long. Then you make a thread and say you are more than likely are gonna go with the 5900 and ask what extras should you get.

You could have had the **** installed by now. I don't get you man...... Really I don't.


i am just wanting to make sure thats what i want its not like its a 50 dollar decesion its about a 500 dollar decesion and i dont want to get something and not be happy with it you understand what i am saying, plus i am getting it for xmas, and i didnt know that if they are around the vehicle within a foot of the vehicle for more than a few mins it will go off i never had an alarm before, sorry for asking questions trying to learn

TurdFergueson2
12-01-2008, 06:07 PM
i am just wanting to make sure thats what i want its not like its a 50 dollar decesion its about a 500 dollar decesion and i dont want to get something and not be happy with it you understand what i am saying, plus i am getting it for xmas, and i didnt know that if they are around the vehicle within a foot of the vehicle for more than a few mins it will go off i never had an alarm before, sorry for asking questions trying to learn

But if I tell you I got the alarm and know how it works, is that not good enough?

5900 plus horns, plus prox sensor and you'll be ok. I thought you lived in a gated area anyway? Who's gonna hop a fence to steal your Xplod amp/L7 combo?

king ranch
12-01-2008, 06:17 PM
i live out in the country on land and no one can get their vehicle next to mine to carry any subs and box only amps they could take but i live a good ways off the road with dogs out, i dont care at the house i am worried like when its sitting at a boat ramp or at the beach or at the mall a place where i aint around.

bigaudiofanatic
12-01-2008, 06:23 PM
Whoever leaves the keys in the car weather you have a keypad or not is an idiot plain and simple. Wow a thief is going to see the key inside the car and than say "oh no there is a keypad i can not get in" lol ya right. If you are going to take this security thing seriously DO NOT LEAVE YOUR KEYS IN THE CAR IN PLAIN VIEW OR NOT! The only key that will be inside the car or should be is the on that is going inside the box for the remote start. THAT'S IT

king ranch
12-01-2008, 06:31 PM
ok well i just hate carrying keys around in my pocket if i have remote start then do i even need to have a key in the ignition or what, also what if the keys are in the ignition and i have the alarm armed and someone breaks in it should set the alarm off and kill the starter well can they crank the truck up since they have keys or does the starter stay disarmed until you hit a button on the remote or how would that work

bigaudiofanatic
12-01-2008, 06:58 PM
If you dont do a immobilizer box with a key in it THE KEY WOULD HAVE TO BE IN THE IGNITION FOR THE REMOTE START TO WORK. Also the keys will start the car even with the alarm going off unless you set it up a magical way. I have seen a car get jacked and was driving down the road LMAO with the alarm going off HAHAHHHHHAAAAAA that was funny.

king ranch
12-01-2008, 07:06 PM
wow thats crazy alright thanks