PDA

View Full Version : 2005 Chevy crew cab

capecodder
11-27-2008, 11:24 AM
New member here so hello to everyone.
I have a factory set-up in a chevy crew cab and want to improve it with just replacing the speakers for now. There is so much out there and is very confusing to tell what I am looking at being a complete novice.
The only place I have looked at for speakers has been Crutchfield but I have been buying home audio from them for twenty years.
What does everyone feel would be good choices for reasonable money for full range speakers for my truck? Might want to add a head unit and a sub at a later time but for now I just want to get rid of the horrible factory speakers that are in there.
Thanks in advance!!

WildSebring
11-27-2008, 11:30 AM
Any decent component set would sound nice...but not going to get full potential out of the stock headunit. :crap:

Whats your budget like ?

capecodder
11-27-2008, 11:38 AM
Not very high at this point with small kids in the house. They are like a vacuum to the wallet.

azimuth
11-27-2008, 11:41 AM
win an auction on ebay, and get an amp. i got an mtx 2002 for 16$, and it runs my components pretty well.

joshualittle
11-27-2008, 12:23 PM
http://www.woofersetc.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=product.display&Product_ID=6201. These are the speakers I would recommend if they're within your budget. They're a nice set of speakers.

Louisiana_CRX
11-27-2008, 12:31 PM
check on ebay for a set of Phoenix Gold RSD 6.5's they use to run $87 a pair shipped ...good componets for the money...if I remember right your model truck has the doors that are perfect for componets behind the mesh grill.....or that could be a little older chevy doors I'm thinking about :confused:

capecodder
11-27-2008, 05:49 PM