PDA

View Full Version : port area for 12w7



dirtysouth31
11-27-2008, 09:46 AM
12w7 in a jeep grand cherokee what is the better free box plans to go with?i built the jl audios recomended off of there site but feel like the port area is too small..is 1.75 c and port is 1.75 width..

DBBOOM
11-27-2008, 10:05 AM
1.75 x what? area requires two dimensions.

azimuth
11-27-2008, 10:41 AM
port area has nothing to do with the sub. the cubic ft. of the box determines port area. for a slot port, in 1.75, you need 18-24 sq. inches. 1/2 that if you use aero ports.

DBBOOM
11-27-2008, 11:08 AM
Port area does need to be figured in relation to the x-max of the sub though, if you dont consider it, port noise could become an issue.

dirtysouth31
11-27-2008, 11:20 AM
1.75 width by 24 inches long..tuned to 36 is the current set-up..my question is is the enclosure to small along with port lenght and width

DBBOOM
11-27-2008, 11:22 AM
1.75 x ? x 24, a port has a width, height, and a length.

dirtysouth31
11-27-2008, 11:32 AM
14

dirtysouth31
11-27-2008, 11:33 AM
http://mobile.jlaudio.com/products_subs_enclusure.php?series_id=9

DBBOOM
11-27-2008, 11:33 AM
OK, gonna check.

azimuth
11-27-2008, 11:34 AM
you have plenty of port area.

DBBOOM
11-27-2008, 11:37 AM
you have plenty of port area.

x 2 And your tuning is closer to 32-34Hz, being a slot port.

dirtysouth31
11-27-2008, 11:48 AM
running just a single

dirtysouth31
11-27-2008, 11:49 AM
would widening the slot width tune higher or lower?wondering if it would make a deeper bass note

azimuth
11-27-2008, 11:50 AM
would widening the slot width tune higher or lower?wondering if it would make a deeper bass note

you'll change tuning in a big way, and would have too much port area. leave it alone.

dirtysouth31
11-27-2008, 11:51 AM
ok

DBBOOM
11-27-2008, 11:52 AM
you'll change tuning in a big way, and would have too much port area. leave it alone.

X 2 . You will get good all around performance like it is now. Hit lows and still have some punch.

dirtysouth31
11-27-2008, 11:53 AM
so back to the original question would a bigger enclosure have a deeper bass note?

DBBOOM
11-27-2008, 11:54 AM
so back to the original question would a bigger enclosure have a deeper bass note?

You can get deeper response db by lengthening the port.

dirtysouth31
11-27-2008, 11:57 AM
http://img62.imageshack.us/img62/5149/175cubes32hz26sqin2rg.png

like this one

DBBOOM
11-27-2008, 12:01 PM
http://img62.imageshack.us/img62/5149/175cubes32hz26sqin2rg.png

like this one

Wasnt very clear, but yeah. The port length tunes the response of the enclosure. Longer=deeper, shorter=higher. As long as nothing else is being changed, if you change port area or cu ft of box, it starts over.

dirtysouth31
11-27-2008, 12:02 PM
if you click the picture it opens up clearer

DBBOOM
11-27-2008, 12:04 PM
I got the idea. Try www.carstereo.com , in the "how-to" section there are enclosure calculations for port tuning.