PDA

View Full Version : Bracing



Crownvicon28s
11-26-2008, 01:44 AM
Ive seen some boxes with metal rods ran through them. Im assuming this is used for bracing. Can anyone tell me step-by-step how to do this my box has two weak spots in between two of the subs so im pretty sure its going to flex in this spot. Can someone tell my how to run these rods through the box.

slam
11-26-2008, 01:51 AM
drill hole.
insert rod.
screw nut and wash on both sides of wood/glass
tighten.
done

Louisiana_CRX
11-26-2008, 01:53 AM
thats what works...:)

Crownvicon28s
11-26-2008, 01:53 AM
How do I get it the right length? Will the nuts come loose from vibration? Does this do a good job of preventing box flex.

slam
11-26-2008, 02:44 AM
measure the area ur gonna put the rod thru the entire box
use lock nuts
if placed in the proper place

snb778
11-26-2008, 02:48 AM
when you use this method, don't you have a rod sticking out both ends of the box...???... or at least a big bolt on one end, and the head on the other

hazardous0388
11-26-2008, 02:52 AM
yes but it saves alot of space due to wood bracing.

snb778
11-26-2008, 02:54 AM
so wouldnt that cause the box to rest kinda crooked

Rashaddd
11-26-2008, 03:25 AM
only if you are doing it along the height of the box

Crownvicon28s
11-26-2008, 04:16 AM
so wouldnt that cause the box to rest kinda crooked

Nah. Box facing the back of the trunk. Subs back. Port back.