PDA

View Full Version : Can someone tell me if this will work?



lowriderram_95
11-25-2008, 12:21 PM
Ok so I'm building aa sealed box for my new SE and I was wondering if for a wire terminal I could just put a ring terminal on the wire and put a bolt through the box to hook up the wires to? I think this will work better than just running the wires through a hole I just don't know if the signal will run through the bolt. Some of you may have done this, I don't know I don't read build logs that often. Help Please

DBBOOM
11-25-2008, 12:22 PM
we concur.

lowriderram_95
11-25-2008, 12:23 PM
we concur.

does that mean it'll work?

DBBOOM
11-25-2008, 12:24 PM
Yeah, it'll work fine. Use brass or copper bolts if you can find them.

99grandprixGT
11-25-2008, 12:25 PM
yes

lowriderram_95
11-25-2008, 12:26 PM
ok, do I need to put a washer on each side so that the ring terminal doesn't contact the mdf or carpet when I finally get time to carpet the **** thing?

DBBOOM
11-25-2008, 12:27 PM
double nut so that the ring terminal is between them, and also put a flat washer next to the wood surfaces.

lowriderram_95
11-25-2008, 12:28 PM
thanks guys

99grandprixGT
11-25-2008, 12:29 PM
or just buy one of these (http://www.parts-express.com/webpage.cfm?webpage_id=3&CAT_ID=48&ObjectGroup_ID=417) if u do not feel like making your own way.

DBBOOM
11-25-2008, 12:29 PM
Glad to help.