PDA

View Full Version : two alpine type r ported



revention
11-23-2008, 05:50 PM
I have an escalade and im wanting to put a box with two alpine type r's in the back. I just need a basic ported design to build off of. Will build with mdf.

azimuth
11-23-2008, 05:51 PM
free box plans in the enclosure section. 4.5 tuned to 35 would work well.

azimuth
11-23-2008, 05:53 PM
and face the subs up, and the port back.

revention
11-23-2008, 06:05 PM
so i just cut two holes on the top? anywhere special on the top? and will it matter that the port is on one side and not in the middle?

azimuth
11-23-2008, 06:06 PM
so i just cut two holes on the top? anywhere special on the top? and will it matter that the port is on one side and not in the middle?

it doesn't matter if the port is in the middle. just build the box and cut the sub holes on the top, instead of the front. just don't cut in to the port wall.

revention
11-23-2008, 06:19 PM
http://i104.photobucket.com/albums/m161/distroyer101/subbox.jpg

so like this?
the red circles would be the sub holes (not in scale or anything)

azimuth
11-23-2008, 06:20 PM
yep. that seems to be loudest in suv's.

revention
11-23-2008, 06:23 PM
man thanks so much! you responded soo fast i appreciate it so much. ill post some pics when im done!

can i just paint the inside black? atleast the port part?

99grandprixGT
11-23-2008, 06:26 PM
ya that should get loud. what amp u going to be running.

azimuth
11-23-2008, 06:27 PM
man thanks so much! you responded soo fast i appreciate it so much. ill post some pics when im done!

can i just paint the inside black? atleast the port part?

if you want. might as well just paint the whole inside with cheap paint.

revention
11-23-2008, 06:30 PM
HIFONICS TXI1008D CAR AUDIO 1000W CLASS D AMPLIFIER -

and thanks so much for the responses guys!

azimuth
11-23-2008, 06:31 PM
HIFONICS TXI1008D CAR AUDIO 1000W CLASS D AMPLIFIER -

and thanks so much for the responses guys!

what are the subs. 4 ohm or 2 ohm

revention
11-23-2008, 06:34 PM
theyre 4 ohm

azimuth
11-23-2008, 06:37 PM
if they are dual 4 ohm, you'd get a final 1 ohm load. a few more watts would be nice for those. the hifonics bxi1608d, would push them better. R's can soak up quite a bit of power.

revention
11-23-2008, 06:42 PM
ill probally get that amp then.

thanks for helping me!

inch thick mdf is best? or is 3/4ths good enoght?

revention
11-24-2008, 12:40 AM
ok i made the box! at least i cut all the pieces. is there a way to make the port in the middle? i would think that would even out the bass? or at least look better?

azimuth
11-24-2008, 01:12 AM
ok i made the box! at least i cut all the pieces. is there a way to make the port in the middle? i would think that would even out the bass? or at least look better?

it won't affect sound at all. you've already cut it, so not now anyway. you'll have more displacement because you wouldn't be using the outside box wall as the port.

revention
11-24-2008, 01:28 AM
alright cool. now where on the top should i cut? and what diameter of circle (12 in?)?

revention
11-25-2008, 12:39 AM
anyone know either of these? where exactly on the top to cut the hole and what diameter of hole to cut?

99grandprixGT
11-25-2008, 12:40 AM
look it up on alpines web site u can download the manual it will tell u the sub cut out size.

azimuth
11-25-2008, 12:41 AM
i think it's 10 7/8 for a type R cutout. look online for the manual

revention
11-25-2008, 12:46 AM
Mounting Diameter: 275 mm (10.9'')

is that the right one?

azimuth
11-25-2008, 12:47 AM
must be

revention
11-25-2008, 12:50 AM
alright cool. will cut them to 10.9inches. Should i just put them in the middle with even spacing?

azimuth
11-25-2008, 12:51 AM
remember, you've got a port wall you won't want to cut in to. otherwise, yeah.

revention
11-25-2008, 12:53 AM
k. thanks!
will be cutting those 10.9 inch holes on the top of the box with my port facing the back

Harleyfx69
11-25-2008, 02:45 AM
kinda cheap setup your going with for an escalade dont ya think ?

kinda lowers the balla status ..

revention
11-25-2008, 11:09 AM
well yea, but im dropping over a grand on this setup and i dont have unlimited cash

jeep_poundin
11-25-2008, 11:23 AM
well yea, but im dropping over a grand on this setup and i dont have unlimited cash

i just put in 4 type r 12's 2 ohm with a planet audio rxd2400 amp and all that cost me under 1k. and thats including all the wiring, wood and aposltry.

taintedplay
11-25-2008, 11:40 AM
well i have headunit, either 2 or 4 componet speakers, 2 type r's, two amps, wiring, and maybe a battery

azimuth
11-25-2008, 08:56 PM
i just put in 4 type r 12's 2 ohm with a planet audio rxd2400 amp and all that cost me under 1k. and thats including all the wiring, wood and aposltry.

if you aren't running a decent front stage with that, you are sounding like crap. i see people do it all the time. put in big bass with stock fronts. hope you aren't one of these morons.

revention
11-26-2008, 11:18 PM
ok well can i go ahead and glue the top with the holes cut to the rest or do i have to wait for my subs to come in? and also, what/where do i need to cut holes for wires?

polyfil?

Kenneth10483
11-26-2008, 11:22 PM
i would do 3 cubes total with 1 6" port

revention
11-27-2008, 12:59 AM
no i already built the box i just need to know if i have to mount the sub before i put the top on, and where to cut holes for wires

azimuth
11-27-2008, 01:01 AM
no i already built the box i just need to know if i have to mount the sub before i put the top on, and where to cut holes for wires

no. put the top on first. it would be a b!tch to do it with subs mounted. then run your wire out of the port, or drill a small hole for the wire, then caulk around it.

GAM3OVR
11-27-2008, 01:03 AM
Pics :)


my single 15" R doing pretty well and taking 1500 RMS ;)

revention
11-27-2008, 01:04 AM
alright cool, thanks! will post some hopefully tonight if i can get the holes cut tonight

azimuth
11-27-2008, 01:07 AM
alright cool, thanks! will post some hopefully tonight if i can get the holes cut tonight

glue that top on, put a space heater on it for 30 minutes, and cut your holes. you'll be done in an hour.

GAM3OVR
11-27-2008, 01:08 AM
My type R didnt get loud for 4 days, I guess I bought a fairly un-used one LOL.

revention
11-27-2008, 01:15 AM
im going to cut it before i put it on. or else id have dust all inside which would ****. it just depends if i can find a compass thing to draw out a circle.

GAM3OVR
11-27-2008, 01:17 AM
im going to cut it before i put it on. or else id have dust all inside which would ****. it just depends if i can find a compass thing to draw out a circle.

GL

Better to do a smaller hole, and slowly make it bigger, then cut too much, and scrap a box

revention
11-27-2008, 01:18 AM
true. im going to probally make it like a hair to small and sand the last little bit.

revention
11-27-2008, 12:28 PM
should i add polyfil? if so how?

azimuth
11-27-2008, 04:08 PM
should i add polyfil? if so how?

you don't need polyfill. just paint the inside with some cheap spray paint. i use undercoating from home depot. 5$.

revention
11-28-2008, 12:22 PM
alright. now i was trying to figure out how to place my amps under the seats but there isnt much room and that would be a b!tch figuring box size ect. would i be able to build i small platform under my sub box? just like 6 inches deep, and put a grill mesh in the hole to stop hands from reaching it? the only thing is airflow, would that be enough?