PDA

View Full Version : What alarm for door pops?



Andrew_as
11-18-2008, 07:57 PM
Friend got a car today and it has the door pops but no remote or alarm. Dont know how the guy had it hooked up. but you can connect a power wire to the relay under the hood. Was wondering what alarm he should get to hook up to it to make all the pops work?

Mike465
11-18-2008, 08:03 PM
Well depending on what he wants to do and how many channels of output he wants he can not go wrong with python.

Andrew_as
11-18-2008, 08:07 PM
Can you give me some ideas of what i need to look for in an alarm for the door pops? I think he just wants to make it so it opens the drivers door.

Mike465
11-18-2008, 08:09 PM
If you are looking for a basic alarm, just look for one that has a second channel output. Almost every one does for truck pop or etc. It will work for what you are trying to do.

Andrew_as
11-18-2008, 08:13 PM
hmm so if he wants one to pop trunk and door and remote start it will have to have 3 channel output?

Andrew_as
11-18-2008, 08:17 PM
http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-PYTHON-CAR-ALARM-881XP-REMOTE-START-LCD-2-WAY-PAGE_W0QQitemZ350123795939QQcmdZViewItemQQptZCar_A larms_Security?hash=item350123795939&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1234|66%3A2|65%3A12|39%3A1|240%3A13 18 (http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-PYTHON-CAR-ALARM-881XP-REMOTE-START-LCD-2-WAY-PAGE_W0QQitemZ350123795939QQcmdZViewItemQQptZCar_A larms_Security?hash=item350123795939&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1234|66%3A2|65%3A12|39%3A1|240%3A13 18)

So i found this one. If he hooked it up how many doors could he pop? Has a 4 channel output so that would mean trunk, remote start and 2 doors???

Mike465
11-18-2008, 08:19 PM
hmm so if he wants one to pop trunk and door and remote start it will have to have 3 channel output?

Yes that is right

Mike465
11-18-2008, 08:22 PM
http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-PYTHON-CAR-ALARM-881XP-REMOTE-START-LCD-2-WAY-PAGE_W0QQitemZ350123795939QQcmdZViewItemQQptZCar_A larms_Security?hash=item350123795939&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1234|66%3A2|65%3A12|39%3A1|240%3A13 18

So i found this one. If he hooked it up how many doors could he pop? Has a 4 channel output so that would mean trunk, remote start and 2 doors???

The relay for the door pops will pop both doors unless it was wired to pop them independent of one another. If you want it to where it will only pop the drivers door and then the passengers door then you would have to get one with 4 channel output.

Mike465
11-18-2008, 08:23 PM
But if you want to you can wire in the unlock wire into that relay and when the car unlocks it will pop the driver door.

Andrew_as
11-18-2008, 08:28 PM
So with that alarm the lock will still arm and the unlock he can make the drivers door pop and than have a remote start and trunk pop and than 2 more outputs for 2 more doors? so the lock and unlock is not included in what they call the "4 channel output"

Mike465
11-18-2008, 08:33 PM
If you get the one you posted a link to it will have a pin for your lock and unlock wire (Blue and Green) There will be there other wires (cannot remember wire colors, but the manual will list it) and they will be for channel 2, 3, and 4 ouput's. If you want to do trunk pop, then use channel 2, for diverside door pop channel 3 and for passenger side door pop channel 4. You can wire the unlock wire into the driver side door pop relay but you will have to deside if it is worth your door opening every time you unlock the car. If you are looking for more output channels then go with the 990. It has 6 channels of output.

Mike465
11-18-2008, 08:35 PM
What kind of car is this going into?

Andrew_as
11-18-2008, 08:37 PM
1991 caprice thanks for all your help man

Andrew_as
11-18-2008, 08:40 PM
the 990 says 4 auxilary outputs?

Mike465
11-18-2008, 08:42 PM
Ok cool just making sure the car does not have a one wire locking system, It has 6 channels of output on it, I have the box right in front of me. No problem man glad I can help ya out.

Andrew_as
11-18-2008, 08:45 PM
awesome. Thanks again

Mike465
11-18-2008, 08:52 PM
No problem