PDA

View Full Version : look at these(L7's)



kickerloud
11-13-2008, 12:12 AM
these sound good to yall.enclosure is for 2 12 L7's. here you go. these sound right?

40" L x 20" h x 23" w
tuned to 31.98 htz.
box is 6.5 cubic ft with port width of 6"

http://img528.imageshack.us/img528/7924/l7enclosurefinaldi4.th.jpg (http://img528.imageshack.us/my.php?image=l7enclosurefinaldi4.jpg)http://img528.imageshack.us/images/thpix.gif (http://g.imageshack.us/thpix.php)

http://img217.imageshack.us/img217/6342/final2kl3.th.jpg (http://img217.imageshack.us/my.php?image=final2kl3.jpg)http://img217.imageshack.us/images/thpix.gif (http://g.imageshack.us/thpix.php)

fyi it will be 20" tall with top

Pioneer~Saturn
11-13-2008, 12:21 AM
Port is definitely large, for sure :D...Id tone-down the port area a bit, actually (a 4.5" wide port would still be plenty IMO). But other than that, it sounds pretty good :)

And to upload them you can go to export...2D image...and then save them as a 2D image on your comp...then photobucket them to upload...then paste here :)

kickerloud
11-13-2008, 12:30 AM
thansks man ... always a big help

kickerloud
11-13-2008, 01:06 AM
http://img528.imageshack.us/img528/7924/l7enclosurefinaldi4.th.jpg (http://img528.imageshack.us/my.php?image=l7enclosurefinaldi4.jpg)http://img528.imageshack.us/images/thpix.gif (http://g.imageshack.us/thpix.php)

http://img217.imageshack.us/img217/6342/final2kl3.th.jpg (http://img217.imageshack.us/my.php?image=final2kl3.jpg)http://img217.imageshack.us/images/thpix.gif (http://g.imageshack.us/thpix.php)

fyi it will be 20" tall with top

DonH
11-13-2008, 01:25 AM
BEAST! it will slam! wut amp is gona push em?

king ranch
11-13-2008, 01:29 AM
if its 6.5net thats a lil too large they will bottom out easily

around 5-5.5net is about right for these subs

DonH
11-13-2008, 01:35 AM
if its 6.5net thats a lil too large they will bottom out easily

around 5-5.5net is about right for these subs

you think so? ive seen these in a box just like that take it fine... they didn't bottom

king ranch
11-13-2008, 01:36 AM
smaller box more power you can feed them, majority of guys who run these subs like to stick to 2-2.5net per sub or maybe slightly bigger and tune low

z0n3d0u7
11-13-2008, 01:38 AM
I had mine in around 2.5 tuned to around 34, and it got pretty loud.

endofdays89
11-13-2008, 01:39 AM
if its 6.5net thats a lil too large they will bottom out easily

around 5-5.5net is about right for these subs

it's so funny, everytime you try to give out advice, someone try's to prove you wrong soon after. Even if your right.

king ranch
11-13-2008, 01:49 AM
and you never get proved wrong haah yea right more like all the time

plus u and the dman or w/e is a noob

DonH
11-13-2008, 02:26 AM
jeeeeeez haha just my input goodness

kickerloud
11-13-2008, 08:13 AM
right now id be pushin them with a zx300.1. ik know its small long story, but at christmas ill be getting one of sonys amps that will push 450rms to each. but does it really matter on the amp right now, just thought that it only gave it more power just making it louder as with as sub. wouldnt be much different than my prefab kicker box wouldnt it?

craigzter
11-13-2008, 08:34 AM
right now id be pushin them with a zx300.1. ik know its small long story, but at christmas ill be getting one of sonys amps that will push 450rms to each. but does it really matter on the amp right now, just thought that it only gave it more power just making it louder as with as sub. wouldnt be much different than my prefab kicker box wouldnt it?

please do not, and I repeat DO NOT get a sony amp to power those. Stick with a kicker amp(sx1200.1) or something similar. Just dont put a sony amp to those subs.:crap:

but hey whatever tickles ya fancy.

kickerloud
11-13-2008, 05:37 PM
i mean for the time being it will be alright with the smaller amp right, no difference than the smaller prefab. maybe alittle louder since the box is made to spacs?


? why not sony?

ballin123491876
11-13-2008, 06:02 PM
not to be too harsh but sony amps pretty much just **** lol and definately are the worst thing power wise for those subs

king ranch
11-13-2008, 06:03 PM
i ran my sony off my 2 12's l7's when i first had them and powered them decently for the money sony isnt all that bad

itsbmw
11-13-2008, 06:07 PM
i ran my sony off my 2 12's l7's when i first had them and powered them decently for the money sony isnt all that bad

I agree that it isnt super terrible. but it still ***** lol.

Pioneer~Saturn
11-13-2008, 06:11 PM
Yea, the sony will work for a quick fix...but Id highly suggest upgrading sometime in the future...

budahbuddy803
11-13-2008, 06:16 PM
i ran my sony off my 2 12's l7's when i first had them and powered them decently for the money sony isnt all that bad

haha i did the same thing, and it got pretty **** loud no doubt, but an upgrade is always appreciated by the owner and the subwoofers.

kickerloud
11-13-2008, 06:19 PM
but it wont hurt to run them on the zx300.1. theyll still pound like they did before just alittle louder right?. my truck is aa enclosre itself lol, its a bronco

king ranch
11-13-2008, 06:21 PM
doesnt matter what amp u run on them u cant hurt them as long as u dont clip them

kickerloud
11-13-2008, 06:30 PM
yeah def. not do that. amp wise wut do yall think about kenwoods 1800 max and up amps. or power acoustics. need yalls opnion . money wise

king ranch
11-13-2008, 06:32 PM
whats your budget first off

Pioneer~Saturn
11-13-2008, 06:32 PM
I wouldnt go for either of those personally :(

Bang-for-the-buck I would go for a Hifonics Brutus 2000 watt...or if you have the money, a sundown 1500 would be nice :)

kickerloud
11-13-2008, 07:04 PM
below 230$

Pioneer~Saturn
11-13-2008, 08:32 PM
Hmm...well, I'd go for this...you'll be leaps and bounds happier with this over the sony :)

http://www.woofersetc.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=product.display&Product_ID=6639

I believe theyre a tad overrated, but still should send a good amount of power to each sub :)

What coils are your L7's?...you may need the bigger model if you can't wire down to 1 ohm :(

MikeyB
11-13-2008, 08:37 PM
Box is too big, you want ~5 cube. Id use a pair of 6" aeros myself :naughty: And prolly do 4-4.5. Lay down about 3k on them.....but thats just me dont pay attention to that.

Pioneer~Saturn
11-13-2008, 08:39 PM
Box is too big, you want ~5 cube. Id use a pair of 6" aeros myself :naughty: And prolly do 4-4.5. Lay down about 3k on them.....but thats just me dont pay attention to that.

3K?...:rolleyes: how bout you step-up and use some real power :naughty:..:D jp

brmcm15
11-13-2008, 08:58 PM
thats a big *** box!

MikeyB
11-13-2008, 09:05 PM
3K?...:rolleyes: how bout you step-up and use some real power :naughty:..:D jp

Drop it a tad below 4 and maybe you could do 4k. I cant remember the power handling difference with the L7's though if there is one.

:p:

Thats askin for trouble though. :laugh:

kickerloud
11-13-2008, 09:12 PM
why you say that? why smaller?

Pioneer~Saturn
11-13-2008, 09:12 PM
Drop it a tad below 4 and maybe you could do 4k. I cant remember the power handling difference with the L7's though if there is one.

:p:

Thats askin for trouble though. :laugh:

Throw 5k on each...do calculations later! :D

Pioneer~Saturn
11-13-2008, 09:13 PM
why you say that? why smaller?

It'll increase the power handling.

kickerloud
11-13-2008, 09:25 PM
so basically make the box smaller? less cubes to make it louder?

Pioneer~Saturn
11-13-2008, 09:32 PM
so basically make the box smaller? less cubes to make it louder?

Not necessarily...but the subs will be able to handle power better and you could possibly gain output by adding power. But I would go for around 2.25-2.5 cubes net per woofer with around 38 sq inches of port a piece just to put some numbers out there..

MikeyB
11-13-2008, 09:38 PM
Yeah 2.5 cube a piece, use ~15sq in of port area per cube.

kickerloud
11-13-2008, 09:43 PM
alright let me see what i can do.. thanks guys for the help

kickerloud
11-13-2008, 10:26 PM
http://img266.imageshack.us/img266/3615/number2l7xg5.th.jpg (http://img266.imageshack.us/my.php?image=number2l7xg5.jpg)http://img266.imageshack.us/images/thpix.gif (http://g.imageshack.us/thpix.php)

its 39 x 15 x 23 tuned to 31.8 htz at 4.8 cubes with about 2.4 cubes for each sub

now what do yall think?

Pioneer~Saturn
11-13-2008, 10:31 PM
Looks darn good..:)

kickerloud
11-13-2008, 10:38 PM
so you think this one would be the way to go concidering it would be louder and have more potential for handling power?

MikeyB
11-13-2008, 11:18 PM
Better. :)

kickerloud
11-13-2008, 11:34 PM
louder?

kickerloud
11-15-2008, 03:42 PM
does the height look good? subs will be mounted on top with 13 1/2" for dept?

basshedz06
11-16-2008, 01:16 PM
smaller boxes do work an they can get loud with some power to them even in bronco's. huge boxes are for 15's and such. even though i have 15's now my box for just one is 2 cubes and for 2 its 3.75 with 4 areo ports

kickerloud
11-16-2008, 01:56 PM
also before i cut top.. can i mount the subs uneven on the top, meaning one at the bottom left, sota in the L-port and the other one in the top right? they'll be facing up?

---------------- One here

One here

tsupra98
11-20-2008, 04:29 PM
just to throw it out there for ya. i'm running my 2 12" L7's in a box that 4 cu ft tuned right around 36 hz and i'm pushing a little over 1000 watts to each sub. so just so you know they can hanlde power no problem with the right box. i'll soon be getting a zx2500.1 and pushing them with that so i'm excited to see how they do.