PDA

View Full Version : Lights on HU dimming when bass hits

DonCorleone
11-07-2008, 03:34 PM
Hey, I have an Alpine CDM-9803 headunit in my 95 Mercury Sable Wagon (I know) with a scosche amp (idk how many watts) and an alpine 12" type e sub. Anyway, whenever the sub hits the lights on my headunit dim, im just wondering if theres something wrong or if that happens often. Thanks.

wu501
11-07-2008, 03:34 PM
would say your experiencing some very bad voltage drop. Do your headlights dim a lot also?

123 GO
11-07-2008, 03:38 PM
I am not an expert but I think that something might be wrong with your battery, maybe change your alternater

DonCorleone
11-07-2008, 03:43 PM
I really cant tell if the headlights dim or not but I can check tonight and get back to you. The lights on the HU dont completely go out they just dim noticeably.

Fusion_FREAK
11-07-2008, 03:49 PM
I had the very same radio, and it dimmed too, but not my lights or anything else in/on the car.

I never figured out why.

pilyin
11-07-2008, 03:50 PM
You're getting a voltage drop. Try doing the big three. If that doesn't help, you might need to upgrade your existing battery and maybe add a battery. If you dash lights are dimming, your headlights are also dimming. You don't have a problem with you alt. yet, but you might after a while. Do a search on the big 3. It's a fairly inexpensive and easy upgrade to your cars electrical.

edit: didn't read it right. Might be the same problem though if you HU is dimming.

WildBeast15
11-07-2008, 03:52 PM
Hey, I have an Alpine CDM-9803 headunit in my 95 Mercury Sable Wagon (I know) with a scosche amp (idk how many watts) and an alpine 12" type e sub. Anyway, whenever the sub hits the lights on my headunit dim, im just wondering if theres something wrong or if that happens often. Thanks.

I just took a sable up to the auction for my job and it had a problem with its alt i would check that... start the car up and unhook the batt if it dies then your alt is bad...