PDA

View Full Version : My First Box

#1AlpineFan
07-16-2003, 01:43 PM
http://home.comcast.net/~brian.hickman/Mar0104.jpg
http://home.comcast.net/~brian.hickman/Mar0105.jpg
http://home.comcast.net/~brian.hickman/Jul1305.jpg

It didn't turn out too bad but i'm no pro. I wanted to paint in the color of the car but i bought a house and all my money goes to other things. besides it doesn't look to bad in primer. It was fun, except for all the d**n sanding. My camera is a pos.

ramos
07-16-2003, 02:42 PM
hey man that looks pretty good. :) My first project didn't look that good. Instead of painting it. I would just save up for a little while and carpet it the same color as the trunk carpet. :)

BDIDDY
07-16-2003, 02:59 PM
Good job, for your first time. I am just wondering how you figure out the cuft of those kind of boxes, you could put water in there and get the liters and convert it over but how else could you do it?

ramos
07-16-2003, 03:24 PM
Sand, packing peanuts/popcorn, I guess actual eatible popcorn if you had a whole bunch of of it. D@mn that would be one helluva popcorn bowl wouldn't it :D Just dump them in until full. Then measure what comes out. :)

#1AlpineFan
07-17-2003, 04:43 AM
Thanks guys!

I had two hugh mdf boxes before i decieded to make this box. they took up the whole trunk and weighed a ton. looked like my car was lowered in the back. With this box the car looks like it sits at stock height. plus the performance gain. I wanted to weigh the difference between the mdf boxes and this fiberglass box, but never got around to it. I should see what the cuft is of the box, i'm sure its alot smaller than the previous ones. It sounds good enought for me so i really don't care. I'm curious of what db's i would hit. I hit a 146.8 with the old boxes. thats probably where i would see the difference. Waters not too bad of an idea, i could find out where all the leaks are.