PDA

View Full Version : stock gm head



danny666007
11-06-2008, 05:43 PM
hey there. first time poster here.
does anyone know if a stock gm headunit from an 2008 chevy silverado 2500 hd duramax diesel has pre-outs or if there is any way to add a subwoofer to the stock radio?:confused::confused: any help and info would be apreciated.

Supergumby5000
11-06-2008, 05:44 PM
i dont know about pre-outs, but you can definatly run a substage on a stock headunit.

Do a search in the headunits section about it, you'll find a ton of info.

danny666007
11-07-2008, 10:30 PM
i dont really know what a substage is as im not really an audioexpert like many of the great minds on this forum:respekt:. could u explain it 2 me?

IDSkoT
11-07-2008, 10:33 PM
i dont really know what a substage is as im not really an audioexpert like many of the great minds on this forum:respekt:. could u explain it 2 me?

Substage is exactly what it sounds like... the sub woofer "stage".

Your car probably doesn't have Pre-outs. However, you can buy something called a "Hi-Low Converter" which converts your speaker outs into an RCA-out, which can then be run to your amp. I've done this so far on my brother's truck, and I can't really hear a difference. Those are about $20 bucks.

However, I believe Pioneer makes a unit that acts much the same way as the 'Hi-Low Converter', except it's much higher quality, and has an onboard EQ and IIRC, is a 3-way. (It has pre-outs for subwoofer, mid-range, and high. But, you can change the mid-range to full range, and the high to full range, too, I believe.)
That processor will run you about $80 bucks on woofersetc.com.

danny666007
11-07-2008, 10:39 PM
thanks idskot. im gonna look into that converter. u wouldnt happen to know any companies that make custom fit boxes for ext cab trucks do u ?

blindskater1213
11-07-2008, 10:40 PM
you'll need this

http://www.amazon.com/PAC-SNI35-Adj-Line-Converter/dp/B0002J22AA

danny666007
11-07-2008, 10:42 PM
you'll need this

http://www.amazon.com/PAC-SNI35-Adj-Line-Converter/dp/B0002J22AA

thanks man. u just saved a lot of lookin around:yourock:

allout13
11-07-2008, 10:45 PM
thanks idskot. im gonna look into that converter. u wouldnt happen to know any companies that make custom fit boxes for ext cab trucks do u ?

probox

proboxrocks dot com

they make some really good stuff. it can be expensive though depending on where you get it from