PDA

View Full Version : Is this a good deal



ap0091
11-06-2008, 08:43 AM
http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/Pioneer-iPod-Ready-Car-Stereo-DEH-P3000IB/sem/rpsm/oid/203093/rpem/ccd/productDetail.do?cc_fm=Featured+Item+Modo

129.99 + Tax Installed

Setup.
Kicker CVT12
Kicker 400.1 ZX

I also plan on purchasing door speakers:
http://cgi.ebay.com/KENWOOD-KFC-1651S-6-5-160W-DUAL-CONE-SPEAKERS-NEW-PAIR_W0QQitemZ140276309029QQcmdZViewItem?hash=item 140276309029&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=66%3A2|65%3A15|39%3A1|240%3A1318#ebaypho tohosting
(http://cgi.ebay.com/KENWOOD-KFC-1651S-6-5-160W-DUAL-CONE-SPEAKERS-NEW-PAIR_W0QQitemZ140276309029QQcmdZViewItem?hash=item 140276309029&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=66%3A2|65%3A15|39%3A1|240%3A1318#ebaypho tohosting)
I know their not powerful, but i dont want to run another amp for them.

IDSkoT
11-06-2008, 08:50 AM
Wow.
4 Pre-outs?! WHY?!

But, yeah. That's one of their better quality "lower-lines". I say "lower-lines" because it's not one of their $300+ dollar units. It'll still be good for someone who just wants a modest system.

However...
http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio/ProductDetail.aspx?ProductID=18737
But it from onlinecarstereo, then get them to install it, if you don't htink you can. But, there are many stories where CC or BB just RAPE someone's car. Just do everything ghetto and not up to par. However, there are good stories, too. So, it's kind of a chance thing when you go to any shop, regardless of which one. Even some shops who are supposed to be the best have had hack jobs.

Also, I'd look for another amp. Kicker has nice stuff, but it's not really "budget". It's kind of like JL, except not as intense. You pay for some of the name, but it still has good quality. A good budget amp is Kenwood brand. They're pretty good quality, too.

:thumbsup:

And if you want to do the install yourself, it's pretty easy. Someone on this forum could walk you through it step by step.



EDIT:: A note, though. My ex-girlfriend had the unit right under that one... it's the same exact thing except the 3000IB has more pre-outs (She only had one set, where the 3000IB has 4.) She was running 6.0" Pioneer Coax nominal at 20w RMS... and they wouldn't get loud at all. But this is just from her application and her speakers. You may be able to get those speakers louder. But, off 15w RMS, there isn't much head room as for loudness. But, as I said, that's subjective. Quality and loudness are all subjective terms.

ap0091
11-06-2008, 08:53 AM
Oh, ive already got the AMP and SUB, i just need to change the headunit now..

I have a Mitsubishi Raider/ AKA The Dodge Dakota.. Someone told me the heaunit has no factory power or something, so they have to tap into igintion line.. i dont want to mess with that so ill let CC install it.

eharri3
11-06-2008, 09:52 AM
http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/Pioneer-iPod-Ready-Car-Stereo-DEH-P3000IB/sem/rpsm/oid/203093/rpem/ccd/productDetail.do?cc_fm=Featured+Item+Modo

129.99 + Tax Installed

Setup.
Kicker CVT12
Kicker 400.1 ZX

I also plan on purchasing door speakers:
http://cgi.ebay.com/KENWOOD-KFC-1651S-6-5-160W-DUAL-CONE-SPEAKERS-NEW-PAIR_W0QQitemZ140276309029QQcmdZViewItem?hash=item 140276309029&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=66%3A2|65%3A15|39%3A1|240%3A1318#ebaypho tohosting
(http://cgi.ebay.com/KENWOOD-KFC-1651S-6-5-160W-DUAL-CONE-SPEAKERS-NEW-PAIR_W0QQitemZ140276309029QQcmdZViewItem?hash=item 140276309029&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=66%3A2|65%3A15|39%3A1|240%3A1318#ebaypho tohosting)
I know their not powerful, but i dont want to run another amp for them.

Try it ur way. If everything is set rite and theyre not loud enough amp em. What people tend to to do is crank the loudness gain and boosTs when this happens to make it better in which case ul be buying new speakers too.

simpsonbuck
11-06-2008, 09:53 AM
:word: Good advice as always ID.

IDSkoT
11-06-2008, 09:54 AM
Oh, ive already got the AMP and SUB, i just need to change the headunit now..

I have a Mitsubishi Raider/ AKA The Dodge Dakota.. Someone told me the heaunit has no factory power or something, so they have to tap into igintion line.. i dont want to mess with that so ill let CC install it.

Yeah-- no. A head unit HAS to have power in order to turn on... I'm not really sure, but odds are they sell a wiring harness that plugs right into your stock harness and you just connect the wires.


Try it ur way. If everything is set rite and theyre not loud enough amp em. What people tend to to do is crank the loudness gain and boosTs when this happens to make it better in which case ul be buying new speakers too.


Yeah. A lot of times my friends who got a "great deal on their system!" have a cheap pair of co-axials with a head unit on maximum loudness and after a few months they ask me why their speakers sound like crap.
:rolleyes:

simpsonbuck
11-06-2008, 09:56 AM
You can get a decent 4 channel amp online or the classifieds on this forum for cheap. It will be night and day with aftermarket speakers amplified.