PDA

View Full Version : New tweeter suggestions.



de8212
11-03-2008, 04:57 PM
I have these tweeters in my A-pillars and they are a bit on the bright/harsh side. I was thinking of getting some new ones to replace them.

Link to tweeters. (http://www.rockfordfosgate.com/products/product_details.asp?cat_id=3&series_id=33&family_id=28&item_id=91969&locale=en_US&p_status=)

I'd liek to get some soft dome tweeters to replace them if possible. I don't think they can be bigger than .75" to fit in the A-pillars.

Last time I bought tweeters was in the early 90's and I think they were soft dome's made by Crunch IIRC. They sounded great.

Price would be ~100 but cheaper is better as long as they a highly recommended.

Any suggestions?

Buck
11-03-2008, 05:06 PM
Get some silk tweets or something...they won't be as harsh.

de8212
11-03-2008, 05:10 PM
Get some silk tweets or something...they won't be as harsh.

are silk the same as soft domes?

Specific suggestions?

Curel
11-03-2008, 07:51 PM
what does you set up look like? Active or passive?

Buck
11-03-2008, 07:53 PM
are silk the same as soft domes?

Specific suggestions?

Well kinda. Metal tweeters tend to be harsher than softer tweeters, such as silk or fabric or soft dome. I don't know too much about them, but kind of think of it like this: this harder the materials they're built with, the worse they sound.

de8212
11-03-2008, 08:57 PM
what does you set up look like? Active or passive?

Sorry, not sure what the difference is. :confused:

de8212
11-03-2008, 09:35 PM
OK, now that I've tried to read to find the difference in the two I am still slightly confused.

I would say that mine is passive but my headunit (alpine 7894) has a built in crossover for HPF and LPF so wouldn't that be active????

galacticmonkey
11-04-2008, 12:08 AM
Not true at all.

A metal dome tweeter can actually be much more accurate than a soft dome if set up correctly.

tcguy85
11-04-2008, 12:21 AM
Not true at all.

A metal dome tweeter can actually be much more accurate than a soft dome if set up correctly.

yup...

James Bang
11-04-2008, 02:13 AM
Well kinda. Metal tweeters tend to be harsher than softer tweeters, such as silk or fabric or soft dome. I don't know too much about them, but kind of think of it like this: this harder the materials they're built with, the worse they sound.
You don't know what the Buck you're talking about.

dragnix
11-04-2008, 02:15 AM
equalize

de8212
11-04-2008, 11:59 AM
Not true at all.

A metal dome tweeter can actually be much more accurate than a soft dome if set up correctly.

Can you share how I can set it up so that it won't be too bright?

snfsh79077
11-04-2008, 12:06 PM
you could try increase the slope to like 12db...I think I read somewhere that that helped someone with brightness

de8212
11-04-2008, 12:45 PM
you could try increase the slope to like 12db...I think I read somewhere that that helped someone with brightness

:confused:
Not sure how to do that??

snfsh79077
11-04-2008, 12:52 PM
on your crossover there will be pins with a bridge connector and next to those pins you should see the numbers 0db -3db -6db and maybe -12db try choosing the lowest of those and see how you like it (lowest being -6db or -12db if you have it)

de8212
11-04-2008, 01:14 PM
on your crossover there will be pins with a bridge connector and next to those pins you should see the numbers 0db -3db -6db and maybe -12db try choosing the lowest of those and see how you like it (lowest being -6db or -12db if you have it)

Thanks. I'll try and check on it this evening when I get home.

But are you talking about through the head unit or the amp? I don't remember seeing any db settings on the headunit.
I know it had different Bass, Treble, various Hz settings under Bass and Treble and Bandwidth (under Bass only, I think) .

Now the amp is a RF 400-4. For the front channel (tweets and 6x9's) it has:
Punch EQ (adjust Min - Max)
LP/HP/AP (three way switch)
50 Hz - 500 Hz (adjustment dial)
Gain

But since the tweets and the 6 x 9's all are running off the front channels I don't know what to do for adjustments.

Buck
11-04-2008, 01:15 PM
You don't know what the Buck you're talking about.

Well really the only metal tweets I've heard are the Boss tweets, maybe that's why :(

James Bang
11-04-2008, 01:19 PM
Well really the only metal tweets I've heard are the Boss tweets, maybe that's why :(

then don't go giving advice/tips/info/assumptions with your weak experiences.

Buck
11-04-2008, 01:20 PM
then don't go giving advice/tips/info/assumptions with your weak experiences.

weak? ok.............

James Bang
11-04-2008, 01:21 PM
weak? ok.............

yes. weak.

your experience and knowledge about audio is weak.

Buck
11-04-2008, 01:24 PM
yes. weak.

your experience and knowledge about audio is weak.

Ha maybe tweets

snfsh79077
11-04-2008, 01:26 PM
Thanks. I'll try and check on it this evening when I get home.

But are you talking about through the head unit or the amp? I don't remember seeing any db settings on the headunit.
I know it had different Bass, Treble, various Hz settings under Bass and Treble and Bandwidth (under Bass only, I think) .

Now the amp is a RF 400-4. For the front channel (tweets and 6x9's) it has:
Punch EQ (adjust Min - Max)
LP/HP/AP (three way switch)
50 Hz - 500 Hz (adjustment dial)
Gain

But since the tweets and the 6 x 9's all are running off the front channels I don't know what to do for adjustments.

no on the crossover for your tweeters. are you running a component set or just an extra set of tweeters?

de8212
11-04-2008, 01:26 PM
:crazy:

de8212
11-04-2008, 01:27 PM
no on the crossover for your tweeters. are you running a component set or just an extra set of tweeters?

The set I linked in my first post. RF p1T's.

speedfreak28
11-04-2008, 01:29 PM
if you must have new tweeters i hear these blaupunkts are great for the money, i ordered a set but havent gotten to try them yet.
http://cgi.ebay.com/Blaupunkt-Vc100_W0QQitemZ230294243423QQcmdZViewItem?_trksid= p3286.m20.l1116

dragnix
11-04-2008, 01:29 PM
holy **** you're just running a set of tweeters with 6x9s in the front? :laugh:

de8212
11-04-2008, 01:32 PM
holy **** you're just running a set of tweeters with 6x9s in the front? :laugh:

:rolleyes:

speedfreak28
11-04-2008, 01:32 PM
holy **** you're just running a set of tweeters with 6x9s in the front? :laugh:

:laugh:just noticed that too, do yourself a favor and get a component set with adjustable slope, will definately solve your problem.

de8212
11-04-2008, 01:33 PM
if you must have new tweeters i hear these blaupunkts are great for the money, i ordered a set but havent gotten to try them yet.
http://cgi.ebay.com/Blaupunkt-Vc100_W0QQitemZ230294243423QQcmdZViewItem?_trksid= p3286.m20.l1116

Not sure I could get away with 1" tweeters in the a pillars.

de8212
11-04-2008, 01:34 PM
:laugh:just noticed that too, do yourself a favor and get a component set with adjustable slope, will definately solve your problem.

Thanks for the input but the 6x9's are not my problem.

James Bang
11-04-2008, 01:36 PM
holy **** you're just running a set of tweeters with 6x9s in the front? :laugh:

Atsaubrey is running horns and 6x9s in the front.

but I doubt the OP is running ID x69s

speedfreak28
11-04-2008, 01:36 PM
what kind of 6x9 is it, it may not be. why couldnt you use those tweeters?

de8212
11-04-2008, 01:40 PM
They are RF 6x9's. Definately not top of the line but this is just to replace the factory speakers in a dodge ram truck. I'm not looking for competition sounding speakers.

you mean Why couldn't I use the tweeters you linked? I'm just not sure how big of a tweeter can go in the A pillar on this truck.

de8212
11-04-2008, 01:42 PM
And I'm not opposed to getting a good component set. I just went with 6x9's becasuse that's what oroginally came in the truck and I read that 6x9's can give a little more "bass" then 6.5's.

de8212
11-04-2008, 04:04 PM
still looking for help on this.

snfsh79077
11-04-2008, 07:51 PM
Im pretty sure you can fit 1" tweeters in your A pillars...I will be upgrading to 1" soon on mine

de8212
11-04-2008, 09:18 PM
Im pretty sure you can fit 1" tweeters in your A pillars...I will be upgrading to 1" soon on mine

Do you have a Ram also?

I think you are right though. I looked at crutchfield and it does list some 1" tweeters that would fit.

Is there any advantage to 1" vs. .75"?

Should I get some that come with crossovers?

Edit: Here's the crutchfield page. Anything there look significantly better than what I have?
http://www.crutchfield.com/g_430/Tweeters.html

fast85_gt
11-04-2008, 10:26 PM
you could try increase the slope to like 12db...I think I read somewhere that that helped someone with brightness

x2 ive owned both silk and alum. and id say alum sounds better to me but but if you have metal domes now and dont like um try the silk they are softer but in the end your the one that have to listen to them buy the silk and choose for your self

snfsh79077
11-05-2008, 01:10 AM
Do you have a Ram also?

I think you are right though. I looked at crutchfield and it does list some 1" tweeters that would fit.

Is there any advantage to 1" vs. .75"?

Should I get some that come with crossovers?

Edit: Here's the crutchfield page. Anything there look significantly better than what I have?
http://www.crutchfield.com/g_430/Tweeters.html

no I have a f150

buy a component set first and see how you like them

de8212
11-05-2008, 05:24 PM
no I have a f150

buy a component set first and see how you like them

I'd consider it but I just bought the 6x9's and tweeters. They didn't cost much but if I can get them to work then I really don't want to spend any unneccessay $$$.

Can I buy a crossover to put in line with the tweets and 6x9's that I can adjust???