PDA

View Full Version : XXX Box, little help?



Biohazard
07-08-2003, 10:20 PM
My box will go like so

Top=14
....._____________
..../....................l
.../.....................l
../......................l Height=16 Depth will be 35in.
./.......................l
/_______________l

Bottom=16


Can someone help me out by telling me, or simply showing me how to create a port for this? Any help is appreciated, i was thinking of it being tuned to 38, is the winisd graph too sharp? It is for daily driving with some comps, For a 15" XXX


thanks!
Craig

p.s. the edit is to put the periods in so the box looks correct :D

mgaidica
07-08-2003, 10:38 PM
well u can just do a slot port.. just measure the length from the middle of the port instead of the top or bottom, because the angle.. waas that what ur asking?

Biohazard
07-08-2003, 10:41 PM
Originally posted by mgaidica
well u can just do a slot port.. just measure the length from the middle of the port instead of the top or bottom, because the angle.. waas that what ur asking?

actually now that i read what i wrote, i meant how do i calculate the size of the port, i realize what u answered was what i asked :D
but i knew that hehe :banghead:

so i mean to ask what are the dimensions of a port. :)

mgaidica
07-08-2003, 10:43 PM
http://www.loudspeakers101.com/VentCal1.htm

did i get it right this time?

Biohazard
07-09-2003, 01:18 AM
yes :D

Biohazard
07-09-2003, 01:39 AM
If i use those dimentions does that mean my total volume inside is about 4.7? assuming those are my outside dimentions with 3/4 MDF taken off on all sides??

For the calculations do i need to take off the volume the port would take up?

mgaidica
07-09-2003, 01:51 AM
yes, port volume is displacement, meaining u dont include it in the box volume..

Biohazard
07-09-2003, 01:54 AM
do u have msn or icq??

Biohazard
07-09-2003, 01:55 AM
also for that calculator is my box a bandpass? what is a bandpass?

Biohazard
07-09-2003, 02:34 AM
oh so very confused :(

Biohazard
07-09-2003, 02:36 AM
oh and can i used something other than 3/4 MDF for it? can i use something thinner?

burtonsnow83
07-09-2003, 11:20 AM
Originally posted by Biohazard
oh and can i used something other than 3/4 MDF for it? can i use something thinner?

don't go thinner, you are going to flex a lot if you do especially with a xxx.

Biohazard
07-09-2003, 01:01 PM
Originally posted by burtonsnow83
don't go thinner, you are going to flex a lot if you do especially with a xxx.

oh ok thanks!

Biohazard
07-09-2003, 01:07 PM
i meant for the port can i go smaller?

F150Matt
07-11-2003, 02:17 PM
i meant for the port can i go smaller?
Talk to me on AIM or email me [email protected] or cybershot1 on AIM, I'll see if I can help.

F150Matt
07-11-2003, 02:28 PM
With your box dimensions being out dimensions, I figured your inner volume(gross volume) before port and sub displacement to be 3.794 ft^3. Chances are you'll be left with around 3 cubes after displacements (.18ft^3 for sub, and whatever size port/port tuning you go with will determine the rest) If you tell me what tuning you want ( I recommend 35hz ) I can get you something drawn up. Just let me know and I"ll be glad to help man.

Biohazard
07-15-2003, 02:40 AM
With your box dimensions being out dimensions, I figured your inner volume(gross volume) before port and sub displacement to be 3.794 ft^3. Chances are you'll be left with around 3 cubes after displacements (.18ft^3 for sub, and whatever size port/port tuning you go with will determine the rest) If you tell me what tuning you want ( I recommend 35hz ) I can get you something drawn up. Just let me know and I"ll be glad to help man.

i sent you a pm :D