PDA

View Full Version : switching keyless entry??



newyorkjets00
09-16-2008, 12:43 AM
ok so my 98 sonoma came with a keyless entry already on it but when i bought the truck the kid had lost the remotes they wants 60 and 40 to program it but i found a biper keyless and remote start for 50 brand new.. was wondering how hard it would be to swap out the brain for the remote start.. i have wired remote start before but just curious about the factory keyless stuff..

newyorkjets00
09-16-2008, 04:27 PM
???

IamMurph
09-16-2008, 04:45 PM
If an aftermarket system is already there then it should be pretty easy to swap it out. Do you know the brand?

newyorkjets00
09-16-2008, 04:57 PM
its not after market it had a stock keyless entry already on it so i dont know how those come..

IamMurph
09-16-2008, 05:24 PM
If it is stock then you are starting from scratch. The stock system is built into the truck.

We sell the Viper 211 for $130 installed.

Depending on your DIY skills you could add one for $50.
http://cgi.ebay.com/KEYLESS-ENTRY-W-2-FOUR-BUTTON-REMOTES-NEW-IN-BOX_W0QQitemZ220279612182QQihZ012QQcategoryZ94833Q QssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

IamMurph
09-16-2008, 05:25 PM
Better for less
http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-Valet-712T-Keyless-Entry-System_W0QQitemZ150293110516QQihZ005QQcategoryZ602 03QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

newyorkjets00
09-16-2008, 05:31 PM
ya a friend has a viper 571XV new in box for 50$ but i was just wondering how hard it is to do the keyless.. i have hooked up a remote start before just wondering about it..

IamMurph
09-16-2008, 10:07 PM
Keyless is much easier than remote start. You have passlock so you will need a bypass module for remote start. 556L

qkassidyw
09-18-2008, 03:22 AM
Keyless is much easier than remote start. You have passlock so you will need a bypass module for remote start. 556L

He has passlock so he will need a bypass for the locks as well....so keyless entry or remote start you need a module...

newyorkjets00
09-18-2008, 09:31 AM
well the last one came with it cuz i didnt buy anything else... this is the one im lookin at.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&item=150292218781

IamMurph
09-18-2008, 04:29 PM
No you won't need a bypass for locks. He will need a bypass for the passlock. The last vehicle you installed on did not require a bypass module.

newyorkjets00
09-18-2008, 05:33 PM
so i need a module plus a keyless kit?

IamMurph
09-18-2008, 11:46 PM
so i need a module plus a keyless kit?
Oh for the love of Mike.

You need a remote start keyless entry and a bypass module.

Only those two items.

it seems like you are over thinking. If you want to get a keyless entry then there is no need for the remote start.

Here ya go.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/DEI-712T-Keyless-Entry-System-Valet-712T-716T_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQ_trksidZp1638Q2em118Q2el124 7QQcategoryZ6763QQihZ017QQitemZ270185924666QQrdZ1Q QsspagenameZWD1V

king ranch
09-18-2008, 11:49 PM
if u can find some remote cheap that are for your truck for keyless entry you can find out how to program them on a forum for your vehicle type

i know for my f150 i know how to program remotes and keys as well

IamMurph
09-18-2008, 11:57 PM
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/KEYLESS-ENTRY-REMOTE-TRANSMITTER-15732803-CHEVY-TRUCK-2_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQcategoryZ33723QQihZ005QQitemZ1 50294594706QQrdZ1QQsspagenameZWDVW

newyorkjets00
09-19-2008, 12:15 AM
so this would b all i need?
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&item=230290505200


Oh for the love of Mike.

You need a remote start keyless entry and a bypass module.

Only those two items.

it seems like you are over thinking. If you want to get a keyless entry then there is no need for the remote start.

Here ya go.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/DEI-712T-Keyless-Entry-System-Valet-712T-716T_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQ_trksidZp1638Q2em118Q2el124 7QQcategoryZ6763QQihZ017QQitemZ270185924666QQrdZ1Q QsspagenameZWD1V

IamMurph
09-19-2008, 12:22 AM
Yes

mapolley07
09-19-2008, 03:38 PM
a little off topic, but I have a 1990 Buick LeSabre that has power locks and windows, but no keyless entry. Also has a trunk release button in the glove box, but the key has to be turned on for the button to work.

How hard would it be to install a keyless entry kit on the car? never done keyless or alarms or anything. Also, could I make the keyless pop the trunk?

grdpndr
09-22-2008, 02:14 AM
Easy 20 minute job for anyone that has experience with it. If you're a rookie, it'll be about an hour. Both the locks and the trunk are [+] pulse, so you'll need to use relays.

THUNDERBIRD
09-28-2008, 09:43 AM
Easy 20 minute job for anyone that has experience with it. If you're a rookie, it'll be about an hour. Both the locks and the trunk are [+] pulse, so you'll need to use relays.

thats what i like about the units with the onboard relays for the door locks no need for relays.