PDA

View Full Version : can u hook a pair of component to 1 channel amp?



mdd99
06-27-2003, 03:06 AM
need help and how to hook it up that way

BrainBandAid
07-04-2003, 10:55 AM
Sure can... but it won't be stereo, just mono. You could hook them up in parallel and get more power out of your amp, if it's 2 ohm stable... I guess you could do it in a pinch, but why?

Wonderbread
07-05-2003, 02:13 AM
before you do that...
realize that if it is a class D amplifier, you probably will be quite unhappy with your highs... teh amplification taht htey use severly limits the frequency response above bass frequencies... you won;t hav eyour left right balance eitehr...

DaBaller504
07-07-2003, 11:58 PM
With the Class D amp it is geared, well it is for your subs. But some mono amps are not class d so I hope you have one. With the D class your comps will only see the low frequ's not the mids or highs. So be careful.

mdd99
07-08-2003, 12:44 PM
if D class if for subs then what class is for component...and if you wire the subs parallel wiill you get mono or stereo and what is the different between mono and stereo.

taylor
07-08-2003, 08:36 PM
most speaker amps are class a, class b or class a/b....mono means one.....right and left combined is basically what you will get, stereo is a left channel and a right channel...(music has left and right sounds) with subs, it's fine to have mono because all a sub does is move air, but speakers need left and right....and like someone stated class d amps are usually dedicated sub amps with no high pass filter, so regargless they will only play low frequencies.