PDA

View Full Version : Pioneer double din(active set up)



Hybrid90accord
09-10-2008, 11:54 PM
Does anyone know of any pionner double din units that can do active(pro mode) like the premier 860, 880 single dins did?

azbass
09-10-2008, 11:55 PM
I don't think there are any pioneer double din units, that can do active, unless it has an external unit for it.

dragnix
09-10-2008, 11:57 PM
i think no manufacturers make double dins that are active capable. Hell, i don't think any units that play DVDs are active capable. You might have to check to see if they have an add-on unit. Which i don't think they do.

Louisiana_CRX
09-11-2008, 12:14 AM
you'd have to run an external crossover to go active with most pioner double dins...some of the jdm models have active.....

Tehgregzor
09-11-2008, 04:59 AM
what are those two headunits he has pictures of? they're hot.

jdc753
09-11-2008, 09:21 AM
As far as I know the only double din active setup would be an Alpine W200/205/505 with a H701 or so processor. Or you could get the pioneer you want and get it hooked to an H701 controlled by a C701


what are those two headunits he has pictures of? they're hot.

DEH-P860MP on the left and DEH-P9400MP on the right

Hybrid90accord
09-11-2008, 10:31 AM
where can i find jdm pioneer headunits, i tried a yahoo and ebay search but came up empty.... my deh-860mp died and wanted something different so i wanted to go double din but if nothng somes up i guess ill go to the 800p, or finally use the 3sixty.2

adam71
09-11-2008, 11:27 AM
where can i find jdm pioneer headunits, i tried a yahoo and ebay search but came up empty.... my deh-860mp died and wanted something different so i wanted to go double din but if nothng somes up i guess ill go to the 800p, or finally use the 3sixty.2

Sorry to hear about your 860. I bought mine in the summer of '04 and i just retired it in favor of the P9. But I had NO problems with it.



That makes me think if i should start selling my old head units.

Hybrid90accord
09-11-2008, 11:34 AM
How is the P9 in comparison to your old 860? do you have the 2 unit set or just the p9, any pro's or cons?

dragnix
09-11-2008, 11:37 AM
isn't p9 the flagship?

If you have a 360.2 then just use it, I heard it's a great unit

adam71
09-11-2008, 12:01 PM
How is the P9 in comparison to your old 860? do you have the 2 unit set or just the p9, any pro's or cons?

Hands down NIGHT and DAY difference. The P9 combo is fantastic. It won't play MP3 cds and doesn't have ipod interface. But that doesn't mean ANYTHING to me as I am a bit of an audiophile.

The pros are endless.

-4 channel active network
-dual l/r independent 31 band eq
-you can adjust the crossover points, slopes and phase for all 4 drivers
-time alignment for all 8 channels
-you run optical from the headunit to the processor so you can make very short rca runs. It is pretty much a completely silent system.
-24 bit d/a converters for high, mid and low. 1 bit for the subwoofer output.
-I'm hearing things on my cds that I only used to be able to hear on my home CD player.

-very clean look
-copper chassis

I can't really think of a con. If I had to name a con I would say it takes a while to learn your way around the network. But that is understandable when you consider how much it does. I needed less than a week to figure mine out.

adam71
09-11-2008, 12:01 PM
isn't p9 the flagship?


Yes, but I don't think they're making it anymore.

nismos14
09-12-2008, 11:50 AM
I searched and searched for this too, couldn't come up with anything good enough to use.

w505 + h701.