PDA

View Full Version : Question about grounding a head unit.



redfred18t
09-10-2008, 07:15 PM
Hey guys. I have a quick question about grounding a head unit. I've had a kenwood excelon HU for about 4 years now, but I just recently picked up a p800prs.

I've noticed that the p800prs's ground wire has a little ring terminal on it. Is it necessary to ground it to the chassis or can I just ground it though the harness? Also, if I remember correctly, the kenwood is grounded through the harness but it's been like 2 years since I went back there haha.

This is on a 01 vw jetta btw

Thanks guys and guyettes

Bobby12many
09-13-2008, 07:35 PM
In my experiences, its always best to use a chasis ground instaed of the harness. Much less chance of interference and ground noise due to other accessories sharing the grounding points.

quakerroatmeal
09-14-2008, 05:15 PM
Hooked mines up recently, I was going to ground to the harness but I ended up grounding to the chassis instead, no noise ftw.

redfred18t
09-14-2008, 06:10 PM
Hooked mines up recently, I was going to ground to the harness but I ended up grounding to the chassis instead, no noise ftw.

yeah that is what I'm going to do

did you hook up the battery wire up to the battery or the harness?