PDA

View Full Version : two kicker cvr 12's in a 4runner



norcrawler
09-04-2008, 04:03 AM
so i got these subs in,(im gonna say no more than 2 1/2 ft cubic sealed box) in the back of my 4runner,there pretty dam loud but im thinking of makin a bigger box and mabey having it ported.i heard that around 2 cubic feet per sub is good.

can anyone give me any advice on what would be good for these, as of demensions,and ported or not ported?

-thanks

craigzter
09-04-2008, 04:10 AM
i got a buddy who has two 12s in a ~3.5 cu ft box sealed running off the zx750.1, and I gotta admit It does sound pretty good, he gets some decent windshield flex in his 02 silverado.

The box he has is where his center console/arm rest was.

99grandprixGT
09-04-2008, 09:54 AM
i had mine in 1.24 cubes sealed each and switched out to 2.0 each ported and its night an day difference. i have 4.0 at 33hz.

galacticmonkey
09-04-2008, 01:10 PM
Id put those CVRs in a bandpass. There is a certain box everyone puts them in when they do bandpass around here and it sounds great and really gets down.

PM me and we can talk.

Got_Bass89
09-05-2008, 01:49 AM
Lol bandpass with 2 of them... thats funny. If you were doing more mabie a 5th order or 6th order bandpass but not with 2 subs... I got my cvrs in 4.2cuft @ 34hz each chamber 2 subs per chamber.

icweiner
09-05-2008, 01:52 AM
Lol bandpass with 2 of them... thats funny. If you were doing more mabie a 5th order or 6th order bandpass but not with 2 subs... I got my cvrs in 4.2cuft @ 34hz each chamber 2 subs per chamber.

my subs were in that exact enclosure. except i only had 2. very loud. i do want to try a bandpass tho.

Got_Bass89
09-05-2008, 03:47 AM
Well try it and let us know how it sounds.... Another option is T-line if you got the room

norcrawler
09-05-2008, 07:01 PM
ok well i figured it out that they are in only about a 2.5 cubic box..
that is ****in tiny. am i right?

and could u fill a noob in about hz and all that?lol:D

-thanks again

Got_Bass89
09-05-2008, 08:07 PM
Well 2.5 cubes fine for sealed but i never really like sealed... Ported always better. Lower the tuning the more tones it will hit... Higher the tune more output but can't play those low tones(such as young jeezy, three 6 mafia, ect... the low stuff).

Atimm693
09-05-2008, 10:39 PM
Well 2.5 cubes fine for sealed but i never really like sealed... Ported always better. Lower the tuning the more tones it will hit... Higher the tune more output but can't play those low tones(such as young jeezy, three 6 mafia, ect... the low stuff).

Depends on your tuning, but sealed boxes can play a much wider bandwidth of sound.

For your application OP, I would just port them.

norcrawler
09-09-2008, 09:15 PM
anyone else?
can u just make a ported box like the one in the stickies,but with two subs?

boomzilla
09-10-2008, 12:02 AM
if it has the airspace needed for the subs and tuning you desire then yea they will work.

nchilds21
09-10-2008, 12:21 AM
go BIGGER!!! get some 15" L7s