PDA

View Full Version : Port area



mythyone
09-03-2008, 12:23 AM
Hi, im new to figureing out how much port area is needed for a box. Heres all the info on it.

http://www.reaudio.com/speaker_box/LPort_Box_Calc.html

Its for a single 12" sub. Just wondering if it looks ok.

blazinb2000
09-03-2008, 12:26 AM
what sub are you using?

mythyone
09-03-2008, 12:29 AM
12" alpine type R.

blazinb2000
09-03-2008, 12:34 AM
found this in another post:

~1.75 cubes per driver, tuned at about 32hz for daily drivng, with ~30 square inches of port area.

Pioneer~Saturn
09-03-2008, 12:38 AM
Yea, around 16.5-17 sq inches or so per cubic foot (net) will be a safe bet usually

mythyone
09-03-2008, 12:43 AM
k, should i back it down in size a little bit? its gonna be getting prob 800 rms and dont know how much over the 500 rated they will take. Grabin the type R cuz it looks like a decent lil sub for like 120 bux. Its gonna be a daily setup but i wanna get it metered just for the hell of it :P

blazinb2000
09-03-2008, 12:47 AM
800 watts rms should be fine as long as it is clean power. Many on here running 1000 to theirs daily without problem, you just have to be careful and know what you are doing. the type r was the forum boner a little while back and were very popular. great speakers for the money.

mythyone
09-03-2008, 12:52 AM
it should be clean power. Im gonna have the gains turned down kinda low and no bass boost. It just looked like a nice sub to fit the bill till i get a new car. Its between the type R ported off like 800 rms or my old mmats pro off 400rms sealed ( that sub didnt like ported for some reason).