PDA

View Full Version : is 5 cu ft to much for a L5



tsupra98
08-25-2008, 05:21 PM
the box is tuned to 33 hz and i'll be running it with my zx750.1. think it's to much?

oxsign
08-25-2008, 05:32 PM
2 post for the same question? It might help if we knew what size L5???????

tsupra98
08-25-2008, 05:49 PM
**** i feel like even more of a dumb *** now. it's a 15"

dragnix
08-25-2008, 05:50 PM
that sounds like a lot. I'd say yes, it's too much for that sub. I think 3-3.5 would be good enough?

tsupra98
08-25-2008, 07:12 PM
well thats what everyone has been telling me but kicker says it's good for it. they gave me specs for either a 6.5 cu ft box or a 5.5 cu ft box. so this is the best i can do as far as cu ft go.

01 S 10
08-25-2008, 07:16 PM
you should be ok with 750 watts. but it probably wont like over 1kw in that big of a box.

tsupra98
08-25-2008, 07:21 PM
well thats what i figured. this is just for everyday use and i just wanted it to pound really hard. right now i've got it in just a little sealed box that only has 1.5 cu ft and it hits pretty **** hard. i hit 140.6 with out even using a bass cd. it was just off the song my girls got a girlfriend. i'm thinking/hoping with this new box i'll get 3 more db out of it or so.

a_steezy
08-25-2008, 07:26 PM
don't do it, it's not worth the big box, i mean my box is plenty big for my 15 L7, just do something reasonable, if you want big with that sub, go like 4ft^3 and it'll perform the same

tsupra98
08-25-2008, 07:30 PM
so you don't think having the extra cu ft would help out at all? cuz i also want this to be for the local comps

tsupra98
08-26-2008, 01:10 AM
bump

tsupra98
08-26-2008, 01:04 PM
any more opinions?