PDA

View Full Version : Terminal Cup Question



mackin
08-24-2008, 05:06 PM
I'm building a box for my 12 inch BL and I completely forgot to order a terminal cup. I just wanted to make sure this one would work with the wattage i'll be using etc..

http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&Partnumber=260-307

Also, i had been planning on covering my box today, so is there any place locally that would have these? like a radio shack or Bestbuy etc?

Thanks in advance! :veryhapp:

Immacomputer
08-24-2008, 05:13 PM
Radio shack sells square versions of those and they're pretty strong. The kind you linked are ****** and you should not buy any of the "press fit" kinds as they will "press" their way out over time.

If you're going to get terminals, these will work:

http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&Partnumber=260-309

You could always run down to Lowes and get some hardware to do something like this:

http://i35.tinypic.com/2lu89qe.jpg

That way you just have two bolt ends sticking out instead of a plastic terminal cup. It's much stronger than the other options.

mackin
08-24-2008, 05:16 PM
sweet, man. thanks alot for the quick reply! /thread

miker
08-24-2008, 05:31 PM
I would just run the wires through the box, and seal it with silicon. That's the easiest thing to do.

mackin
08-25-2008, 01:09 AM
I would just run the wires through the box, and seal it with silicon. That's the easiest thing to do.

as much as i'd love to do that, i want to be able to take this ***** out of the trunk when i need/want to.

and just an FYI to people reading this trying to buy local, Radioshack did NOT have these cups. BB didnt either lol. not a big deal though i just ordered from partsexpress and used their dimension to make the cut out.

thanks dudes.

ultimate157
08-25-2008, 09:55 AM
Bolts are the cheapest and best option.

bjfish11
08-25-2008, 11:01 AM
I would not use the push to fit ones. Make sure you got one that actually fastens to the box with screws.