PDA

View Full Version : question about a port



tsupra98
08-22-2008, 06:14 PM
so the box i'm building for my 15" L5 can only be 15" tall. but for the port to be tuned at aroud 40 hz it has to be 13.75" long. now everyone has told me to put the sub up and port up. will there be a problem with only having a little more than an inch of space between the bottem of the port and the bottem of the box if i fire the port up?

hatemonger
08-22-2008, 06:16 PM
so you will have 1 1/2 inch of space between the back wall and the port? no

lilmaniac2
08-22-2008, 06:19 PM
fire the port sideways near the bottom of the box, should yeild better results

tsupra98
08-22-2008, 06:27 PM
**** i just realized i didn't include the thickness of the wood so i can't have the port firing up anyways i don't have enough space that way. any other suggestion on wich way to fire the port??

tsupra98
08-22-2008, 06:29 PM
fire the port sideways near the bottom of the box, should yeild better results

should i still have it the same length then?

hatemonger
08-22-2008, 06:31 PM
**** i just realized i didn't include the thickness of the wood so i can't have the port firing up anyways i don't have enough space that way. any other suggestion on wich way to fire the port??

if it will clear the sub, you could do a 22.5 degree angle and see what that length is.

hatemonger
08-22-2008, 06:32 PM
should i still have it the same length then?

firing sideways would work. same length