PDA

View Full Version : Those of you using MT12's



Senco
08-21-2008, 07:53 PM
I finally bit the bullet and hooked it up.. It sounded fine but didnt get the volume i wanted (My sx 15 on 1000RMS (MD2D) got louder) and Im using a Sundown3000D (1600RMS@2) I have another 3000D on the way that im going to strap to feed it, i dont think its a power issue I think its the box... My question is, yoou guys running MT's how many cubes are you using and tuned to what?? Im going to build a new box out of Birch ply (1 piece design, using relief cuts for front, back, sides and port).. I think this box i have it in is a little small and not all that well built.... Im not asking for box plans, I can do that, i just have NO exp' with the MT... Help is appreciated....

Lil Poot
08-21-2008, 07:54 PM
why didnt you stay with a 15 if you wanted to get louder?

try putting the amp at .5 ohm and keep the gains all the way down, input voltage from your deck or whatever low (no bass boost or or rap presets, that sort of thing).

mazdakid
08-21-2008, 07:59 PM
i made my mt18 into a 12 and was not happy with the output in my hatch.
box was 3 cubes tuned to 32hz with about 45" of port area

Senco
08-21-2008, 08:07 PM
why didnt you stay with a 15 if you wanted to get louder?

try putting the amp at .5 ohm and keep the gains all the way down, input voltage from your deck or whatever low (no bass boost or or rap presets, that sort of thing).
I figure a 12 mt on 3200 watts should get hella balls louder then a SX 15 on 1000 watts.. granted, im only giving it 1600 right now but there should be more there than there is.. dont get me wrong, it gets loud and goes low but there's more there to be had and i believe it to be my box... also, my electrical wont stand up to .5 so i have to suffice with 2ohms till i can back it up.

Senco
08-21-2008, 08:10 PM
i made my mt18 into a 12 and was not happy with the output in my hatch.
box was 3 cubes tuned to 32hz with about 45" of port area

this is what i was afriad of, my 15 slapped hella balls hard..