PDA

View Full Version : Increasing Signal Voltage



fasfocus00
08-19-2008, 04:54 PM
so here is my situation. I have a JVC head unit that only outputs 2.5 volts. i want to increase my voltage to my amps. the head unit has 6 channels of output. I have a couple of EQ's laying around that put out 9 volts of output. the problem is that the EQs only has a 2 channel input. am i losing anything other than fade and my subwoofer control? do i have any advantages or disadvantages using the EQ?

Rashaddd
08-19-2008, 04:57 PM
you only really need 2 channels for stereo output, so no, go for it

fasfocus00
08-19-2008, 05:02 PM
i only have a front stage but it's bi-amped that's why I use 4 channels for highs. new question. I have a hatch with no back seat. should I mount the EQ in the dash area or the rear seat area or some where else? will i get any better adjustment of sound out of my system since I will be adding another EQ to my head units EQ?

ultimate157
08-19-2008, 05:19 PM
Turn up your HU volume more, and forget about the line drivers. You run the risk of amplifying the noise floor by using a line driver instead of just upping the initial voltage.

I set my gains to ~33% on both my amps with 2v pre-outs.