PDA

View Full Version : help with porting a box for 4 12s



qxfosgatesvt
06-18-2003, 09:52 PM
i want to make a box ported for 4 12in l7s should have all 4 subs in there
own chamber or have one big comon chamber? also how many ports shold i have in this
box? heres the measurements 37in deep 35in long 16in high the subs will be mounted on top of the box
firing up i went to 12volt.com and that gave me around 9cf to work with is that right? or should i have just one big sealed box? i want some cheast pounding bass ! {p.s. i bump responsably!

BDIDDY
06-18-2003, 11:27 PM
I would use 1 chamber and you probably need more than 9 cuft.

crhye250r
06-19-2003, 11:34 AM
Nine cubes should be enough....Here is my idea for your box. This is gonna be hard to picture so bear with me.

What i would do is give each sub its own enclosure....but...leave one part (top or bottom) open and make a port all along the bottom (or top) that all the subs would use. Its kind of hard to picture, so i drew up a plan. The plan is just for one section of the box, but you get the picture. The dividers between subs go to the back wall of the box, and to the top, but the port is at the bottom.

n0ftInc
06-19-2003, 12:23 PM
wow.. i like that design a lot.. good work.. yeah.. maybe a tad more then 9 though.. :confused:

BDIDDY
06-19-2003, 12:34 PM
3.25 is straight off of here http://kicker.com/ShowPage.cfm?filename=l7solosub.html&menu=SUBWOOFERS . and you would still want to go bigger than that.

crhye250r
06-19-2003, 02:08 PM
There is only one flaw i see in my design, and that is getting the port tuning correct...

HUDI
06-19-2003, 02:35 PM
u defenly want to make 4 chamber porting each chamber
http://gallery.caraudio.com/pp/showphoto.php?photo=868&papass=&sort=1&thecat=500

some think like that i have this box working know it is the way to go mate